Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54

Thread: 3D Premium Cluster 10% overspeed

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like

    3D Premium Cluster 10% overspeed

    Hi all

    I have a set of 3D premium clocks from a Touran converted to diesel and kmh for my 2K Caddy. The speed over reads by 10% throughout the entire speed range. The impulse setting is correct (and cannot be changed anyway). Does anyone know if this something that could be corrected?

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User iichel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    1,543
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well apart from rudimentary measures like suggesting different wheels and/or different magnetic hubs. :P
    This is probably something embedded in the EEPROM of the cluster and cannot be changed with the VCDS programme.
    You'll need some other tool for this, and then I don't know how to handle this. It will depend from manufacturer to manufacture (i.e. VDO, Johnson Instruments, Continental) what the procedure will be.

    But otherwise, the 3D cluster sounds like a great mod for your car.

  3. Likes Uwe, Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes it's very frustrating. It's a great cluster but 10% is a big error and I've confirmed it with measuring blocks too. I hope someone will be able to explain if it's possible to correct this via EEPROM.

    Thanks for the reply.

  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,343
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Afield23 View Post
    Yes it's very frustrating. It's a great cluster but 10% is a big error and I've confirmed it with measuring blocks too. I hope someone will be able to explain if it's possible to correct this via EEPROM.
    Since altering the EEPROM isn't something that VCDS can do I suspect you'll need to look elsewhere...

  6. #5
    Verified VCDS User iichel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    1,543
    Post Thanks / Like
    yeah gut I guess pointing him in the right direction wouldn't hurt.

  7. Likes Uwe, Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  8. #6
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    1,981
    Post Thanks / Like
    Right direction would be posting autoscan or if it is already posted in this forum, a link to it.

    Currently we don't even know what kind of SW OP is running in 3D cluster.
    I am a VW Freak - Le WV Freaks OR Come visit me at my work with ODIS concerns - FORSS ODIS GeKo/FaZit access for VW/AUDI/Škoda
    The world is my oyster...

  9. Likes Uwe, Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  10. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'll post an autoscan when I can, but I only asked if this is something that could be fixed. I realise it's not a VCDS fixable issue but there isn't an EEPROM forum as far as I'm aware, and Spacewalker who sold them to me has essentially washed his hands of it.

  11. #8
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,580
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Moving this to The Bar.
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  12. #9
    Verified VCDS User NZDubNurd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,017
    Post Thanks / Like
    Are the VW clusters usually off by a %, or a fixed number?

    I haven't checked mine, other than on the Climate control secret menu: Indicated 60KM/h on the dial only shows as 54km/h digital (as VCDS would read it). I haven't checked it at higher speeds, to see if it's the same 6km/h, or if it's actually 10% then too. That's on my unmodified 2006 Touran.
    Allan
    The R32ran Thread
    How to post a full Auto-Scan
    "Duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can muffle the sound"

  13. #10
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,343
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by NZDubNurd View Post
    Are the VW clusters usually off by a %, or a fixed number?
    Under EU Regulations speedos must not under-read but can over-read by up to 10%. So most manufacturers, including VW, calibrate their speedos to over-read by around 5% when the vehicle is fitted with OE size new tyres - to allow for tyre wear and general tolerancing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •