New ECU and immo off on Passat B7 2011 - How to use the VCDS cable to change VIN

AlexLupu

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=336051
Hello everyone,

I'm new to ross-tech forum and I salute you all . I've recently purchased the VCDS cable (3 VINs) and I want to start to fix the car myself.

My car is VW Passat 2.0 Bluemotion 2011 estate.

Recently I had an issue with the ECU and it couldn't be recovered - completely dead. I've changed it with a similar one from a damaged car. The guy who help me took the immo off and so the car is working again.

Now my question is how should I use the new cable to register the VIN? The new ECU has a different VIN number than my car. Do i need to register the donor car VIN number and then change it with my car's one in the ECU? This way I will use 2 out of my 3 available VINs. Is it possible to recover one of the VINs ?

Thank you,

Alex

Uwe

Benevolent Dictator
Administrator
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
HC100001
You can't change the VIN in the ECU on a car this new with VCDS. Adapting the ECU on that car is done via a challenge/response mechanism. The challenge issued by the car changes every time the ignition is cycled, and the means to calculate the required response from the challenge only exists on VW's corporate server, so even a dealer can't do this without a connection to VW's server.

As for for the VIN limit in your interface: The only way to "register" a VIN in the interface is if VCDS asks you to do so. There's no manual way to do it. If you've already registered the VIN from your old ECU, then chances are that at some point, VCDS is going to insist that you register the new one too, because it thinks you're working on a different car.

-Uwe-

AlexLupu

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=336051
Thank you so much for your explanation. It sounds complicated but logic in the same time.

I didn't register the old ECU so I'm going to do it on the new one.