Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: No response from controller with HEX-NET

  1. #21
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    121
    Post Thanks / Like
    Engine connector:
    pin #1 - GND
    pin #2 - GND
    pin #3 - 15 (12v)
    pin #62 - 30 (12v)
    pin #43 - W (to instrument cluster) = K ?

    Hex-net:
    pin #4 - GND
    pin #7 - K
    pin #15 - L (not needed for this test)
    pin #16 - 12v

    Need to recheck ^^ two more times and use isolated connectors to not fry something.
    You can also check grounds and 12v while ECU is still connected to the car with ignition ON.
    Maybe get extra obd2 connector with 10-20cm wires from A4 B5/A6 C5/A4 B6, whatever.
    If possible try this at first with 5usd KKL cable and vcds-lite and only then switch cable to hex-net

    This pdf confirms above pinout i got from Elsa (A6 C5 2004 2.7biT BES):
    https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a6-.../#post24361114
    Last edited by _Val; 02-28-2019 at 03:09 PM.

  2. Likes Uwe liked this post
  3. #22
    Verified VCDS User Zenerdiode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    911
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by _Val View Post
    Engine connector:
    ...
    pin #43 - W (to instrument cluster) = K ?
    ...
    Yes, on the bench we use the W-Line as a K-Line for the ECU.

    Julian, you haven't inadvertently altered any settings on VCDS Options screen have you? Hmm, I was thinking of 'Bypass CAN Init' or 'Force K on Engine' - but these would have a desirable effect in your case. But all of the other parameters are at their default values?

  4. Likes Uwe, _Val liked this post
  5. #23
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Zenerdiode View Post
    Yes, on the bench we use the W-Line as a K-Line for the ECU.

    Julian, you haven't inadvertently altered any settings on VCDS Options screen have you? Hmm, I was thinking of 'Bypass CAN Init' or 'Force K on Engine' - but these would have a desirable effect in your case. But all of the other parameters are at their default values?
    No i havent touched those settings, but after this started to happen I tried both settings you refer to, just to see if it makes any difference. And no, its doesnt. Also tried a clean install of VCDS, and even a different PC. Im pretty sure that my car is the problem, since the hex-net is working on anything else.

  6. #24
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Im delaying the stand-alone ECU test until I recieve this obd pinout from ebay;

    Abit safer with the isolated connector and such.
    The pinout seems correct _Val


    The only 2 modules I cant reach is the Auto HVAC and Engine.. do they share the KWP2000 ? According to the ross-tech page is a little uncertain..
    I havent tried to unplug the climate controller, but I do remember working on that one last year when I created this post.
    Im so frustrated, since the HEX-NET worked perfectly when I first got it.

  7. #25
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    121
    Post Thanks / Like
    HVAC is on K1 for diagnostics. Don't know protocol it's using.
    Have you ever tried disconnecting fitted ABS module from K line and then testing Hex-net?

  8. #26
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by _Val View Post
    HVAC is on K1 for diagnostics. Don't know protocol it's using.
    Have you ever tried disconnecting fitted ABS module from K line and then testing Hex-net?
    No, I havent. U mean, disconnect the wiring harness from the abs module right? Since the abs have been customized it could be an issue yeah..

  9. #27
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    121
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, could also just unplug ABS connector from unit in engine bay.

  10. #28
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by _Val View Post
    Yes, could also just unplug ABS connector from unit in engine bay.
    Thats what I meant, but i chose the wrong words I guess
    Tried to disconnected k-line for the ABS module today. The k-line for ABS and ECU is paired in the ecu poenum box by me, so it was an easy disconnect. But nothing changed..
    Note: I think the battery is looking at a retirement.. its 11.6v with the engine off (according to test in vcds)
    But it has 14.1v at idle so that wouldnt matter due to communication anyway right?

  11. #29
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Still waiting on the obd -> pinout that I bought from ebay, so today I wanted to check out my other theory.
    As mentioned my Auto HVAC controller (climate controller) has also been unavailable for scan, in addition to the ECU.
    And, since these problems started last year when I installed the climate controller, i wanted to remove the climate controller and see if I could read the ECU.
    And guess what, it did
    Thats strange..
    That means that theres no disfunctionality with the wiring between ecu and obd port, but between ECU and climate I guess ?

  12. Likes Uwe, _Val liked this post
  13. #30
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,934
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Znippie View Post
    As mentioned my Auto HVAC controller (climate controller) has also been unavailable for scan, in addition to the ECU.
    And, since these problems started last year when I installed the climate controller, i wanted to remove the climate controller and see if I could read the ECU.
    And guess what, it did
    Thats strange..
    That means that theres no disfunctionality with the wiring between ecu and obd port, but between ECU and climate I guess ?
    Not sure exactly what is going on there. The HVAC controller could be loading down the K-Line, or putting some noise on it, or incorrectly responding when it shouldn't. I can't think of a good way to narrow down the cause without putting an oscilloscope and/or a K-line analyzer on this.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  14. Likes PetrolDave liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •