Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: No response from controller with HEX-NET

  1. #11
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    OK, so what we have here is a Franken-car.

    BTW, I made an error a couple of posts up, the ABS is not what I found on CAN, the the airbag module is; but in the end, we can rul out that the problem is no communications on CAN. Most B7 ECUs are also do diagnostics on CAN, not on K-Line, which is why I was wondering about that.

    TBH, I'm a bit stumped as to what's going on here. But since it's now clear that all the modules you're having difficulties with are on K-line, we know what to focus on. It would be interesting to put an oscilloscope on the K-Line at the diagnostic connector to see if there's a noticeable difference between the HEX+CAN and the HEX-NET on this car. However, I'm guessing you don't have an oscilloscope?

    -Uwe-
    Thats right, I dont own a oscilloscope
    Worth to mention is that when I disconnect the ECU, I get fault codes in the instrument, abs module and immobilizer that they arent communicating with the ecu. So they are somehow aware that the ecu is missing, and thats via k-line right? Same for the clinaye controller, if I pull that one out aswell
    All the above with my hex-net

  2. #12
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,576
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Znippie View Post
    Thats right, I dont own a oscilloscope
    OK, if you'd try something much less costly than buying an oscilloscope , put an additional pull-up resistor on the K-line. I would suggest 1000 ohms between the K-line and +12V, preferably right at the diagnostic connector.

    Quote Originally Posted by Znippie View Post
    Worth to mention is that when I disconnect the ECU, I get fault codes in the instrument, abs module and immobilizer that they arent communicating with the ecu. So they are somehow aware that the ecu is missing, and thats via k-line right? Same for the clinaye controller, if I pull that one out as well
    All the above with my hex-net
    Nope, the K-Line is dedicated exclusively to diagnostics (and on some cars, to a short immobilizer negotiation between the immo and the ECU; these cars have a separate, dedicated 'W' line between the immo or instrument cluster and the ECU). The communications between the modules that results in "missing messages" or similar DTCs is on the CAN busses.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  3. #13
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    OK, if you'd try something much less costly than buying an oscilloscope , put an additional pull-up resistor on the K-line. I would suggest 1000 ohms between the K-line and +12V, preferably right at the diagnostic connector.


    Nope, the K-Line is dedicated exclusively to diagnostics (and on some cars, to a short immobilizer negotiation between the immo and the ECU; these cars have a separate, dedicated 'W' line between the immo or instrument cluster and the ECU). The communications between the modules that results in "missing messages" or similar DTCs is on the CAN busses.

    -Uwe-
    There cant be any sertings on the hex-net that ive have misclicked or anything then? Very strange that the hex-can is working :/

  4. #14
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    183
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    OK, so what we have here is a Franken-car.

    However, I'm guessing you don't have an oscilloscope?

    -Uwe-
    I have but my leads won't reach to Norway and my Wi-Fi won't reach either

    Sorry I'll get my coat
    Every job is important, even the lowliest, and peoples lives very much depend on us all, so with this in mind, let no man delude himself that his work is more important than that of his colleagues.

  5. #15
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,576
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Znippie View Post
    There cant be any sertings on the hex-net that ive have misclicked or anything then?
    None that I can think of.

    Quote Originally Posted by Znippie View Post
    Very strange that the hex-can is working :/
    The K-line transceivers are a bit different and the HEX-NET might not be quite as forgiving of unusual loads on the K-line.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  6. #16
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    A little update, the car have been under heavy maintenance, so the battery has been disconnected for 3 months.. fired the car up today, and gave the hex-net a try. It worked properly the first time, and then I tried it the day after... back to «no response feol controller»
    My vagcom «v1» still works normally. Im guessing the car is resisting the hex-net cable, but why?

  7. #17
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,576
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Znippie View Post
    A little update, the car have been under heavy maintenance, so the battery has been disconnected for 3 months.. fired the car up today, and gave the hex-net a try. It worked properly the first time, and then I tried it the day after... back to «no response feol controller»
    My vagcom «v1» still works normally. Im guessing the car is resisting the hex-net cable, but why?
    Good question.

    We the conditions the first day and the second day the same? Engine running or not? Battery voltage?

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  8. #18
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Good question.

    We the conditions the first day and the second day the same? Engine running or not? Battery voltage?

    -Uwe-
    Yeah, conditions where the same. The issue is the same, even with the engine off or not. Battery voltage 14,1.

    I saw another post with a slightly similar issue, where you asked the threadstarter to check mvb 125 and 126 in the instrument cluster (due to CAN communication i belive)
    So I did, and this is what I got:


    But then I noticed that when I run the engine module, under "Comm status", is says "Kline init failed"


    So I guess youre onto something here Uwe with the Kline.. But I still wonder why the HEXCAN is able to communicate with the ECU, and why does it work after a while without the battery beeing connected

  9. Likes Uwe liked this post
  10. #19
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    112
    Post Thanks / Like
    Could you put this A6 C5 engine ECU on the desk, add couple wires to it and try connecting it with hex-net without interference from other control modules?
    We could help with the pinout.

  11. Likes Eric, Uwe, Zenerdiode liked this post
  12. #20
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by _Val View Post
    Could you put this A6 C5 engine ECU on the desk, add couple wires to it and try connecting it with hex-net without interference from other control modules?
    We could help with the pinout.
    Sure, no problem. We can do that

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •