Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: VCDS Programming API and/or "Apps" equivalent?

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like

    VCDS Programming API and/or "Apps" equivalent?

    Has there been any thought to add functionality, similar to what ODBEleven is doing, and have an "app", or more accurately, a macro that you could create, that would change a bunch of values at once, for a certain type of functionality?

    Barring that, I seem to remember an API being discussed at one point, that could be used to create an app that would work with VCDS to have this type of functionality. Or even just a simple thing, like automatically doing full maps of all modules, without having to do them all manually.

    If Ross-Tech is looking for some testers for features like this, I would be happy to do this.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Ross-Tech Employee Sebastian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    1,905
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, there has been thought as to implementing an API but at this point we do not have a publicly available version of it. As far as creating maps goes, you can already do that by setting Debug Level = 2 prior to running an Auto-Scan.
    Last edited by Sebastian; 04-19-2018 at 03:57 PM.
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com // VCDS Rookie since 2003

    »Nichts erweitert das eigene Wissen mehr,
    als die Meinung eines Andersdenkenden.«

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Does that give the same result (useful information-wise) as doing admaps of every individual module, or does a separate admap yield more information? How about blockmaps?
    Current:
    2018 Tiguan AD Highline 2.0 BiTDI 240hp > Stage 1+ 328hp
    2016 Polo 6C Highline 1.0 TSI 105hp

  4. #4
    Ross-Tech Employee Sebastian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    1,905
    Post Thanks / Like
    Same functionality, same results. Works for both ADP and MVB. Note: Newer modules may require a HEX-NET or HEX-V2 in order to do all/proper mapping, a HEX+CAN or Micro-CAN may not be enough.
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com // VCDS Rookie since 2003

    »Nichts erweitert das eigene Wissen mehr,
    als die Meinung eines Andersdenkenden.«

  5. Likes Uwe liked this post
  6. #5
    Verified VCDS User hadez16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by wildstar87 View Post
    Has there been any thought to add functionality, similar to what ODBEleven is doing, and have an "app", or more accurately, a macro that you could create, that would change a bunch of values at once, for a certain type of functionality?

    Barring that, I seem to remember an API being discussed at one point, that could be used to create an app that would work with VCDS to have this type of functionality. Or even just a simple thing, like automatically doing full maps of all modules, without having to do them all manually.

    If Ross-Tech is looking for some testers for features like this, I would be happy to do this.

    Thanks
    As there is no public API available, I do such stuff via GUI automation techniques. Example: http://forums.ross-tech.com/showthre...l=1#post117243 (I really use that very often - but only for UDS modules)
    I already thought of an own scripting language via GUI automation like

    Code:
    OpenUnit(10)
    ChangeCoding([byte]3, [bit]7, 1)
    DeleteDTCs()
    ...but then I was like "Who needs this"....
    And a big challange is transaction security when you just act as a mouse cursor or a keyboard shortcut.

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterTommy View Post
    Does that give the same result (useful information-wise) as doing admaps of every individual module, or does a separate admap yield more information? How about blockmaps?
    I think the debugLevel = 2 thing does not offer to enter a security login for each module as you can do when you do it individually.
    Last edited by hadez16; 04-20-2018 at 01:12 AM.

  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User TBAx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    DE
    Posts
    354
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Sebastian View Post
    you can already do that by setting Debug Level = 2 prior to running an Auto-Scan.
    This doesn't really work at all. I get some random blockmaps for a few modules in my Octavia 5E MJ 2017, but that's it.

  8. #7
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    21,593
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by TBAx View Post
    This doesn't really work at all. I get some random blockmaps for a few modules in my Octavia 5E MJ 2017, but that's it.
    I think this will only make maps for modules where no label file is found. Try renaming your Labels folder to something else temporarily before you do it.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  9. Likes Eric liked this post
  10. #8
    Ross-Tech Employee Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,639
    Post Thanks / Like
    ^ I like to have a "labels-empty" folder with still the labelver.txt in it for such cases, and do a rename between that and the real folder. VCDS may do weird things when it doesn't have that file.
    You ain't metal till you got a clutch pedal

  11. Likes Uwe liked this post
  12. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    It would be handy to be able to expand an autoscan to also make admaps/blockmaps (checkbox in the autoscan screen) instead of hiding it away in debug mode. I’m thinking adaptation-only bcm’s, MIB units, etc. The autoscan no longer covers all relevant data, would be nice to see it expanded?
    Current:
    2018 Tiguan AD Highline 2.0 BiTDI 240hp > Stage 1+ 328hp
    2016 Polo 6C Highline 1.0 TSI 105hp

  13. Likes D-Dub liked this post
  14. #10
    Verified VCDS User hadez16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by MasterTommy View Post
    It would be handy to be able to expand an autoscan to also make admaps/blockmaps (checkbox in the autoscan screen) instead of hiding it away in debug mode. I’m thinking adaptation-only bcm’s, MIB units, etc. The autoscan no longer covers all relevant data, would be nice to see it expanded?
    Then you have to be very very patient when creating an "enhanced Auto-Scan". Adpmaps for non-UDS units takes a lot of time as every 256 channels get read...
    But I agree that everything, if it is present, could be made more compact by fitting everything in a XML file or something like that, with some kind of a Viewer application.

    One car, one XML. Everything in. I'm just thinking loud.

    As I was bored of massive copy-paste from notepad of codings and following LCode.exe execution bla bla adpmap searching windows explorer apocalypse, I created myself a little Auto-Scan GUI that gives fast-access to LCode for the codings, and opening adpmaps if they are present in the same directory... (execution via context-menu of txt files)



    Something like that, integrated in VCDS. CRM. Customer database. Buzzword madness.

    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •