Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: VCDS not starting until internet connection?

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User iichel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    1,561
    Post Thanks / Like

    VCDS not starting until internet connection?

    A little finding/noticing in the VCDS.

    My car lives in a parking garage below the apartment complex I live in. Since it's i Switzerland, it is probably capable of withstanding a nuclear blast.
    I don't know why, because who would nuke Switzerland, but hey, that's what they do here.
    My WiFI doesn't reach into the parking garage, neither does a cellular signal.

    Yesterday I was starting VCDS and it didn't pop up. I was stuck with a VCDS process in the task manager of about 56MB but no show.
    I tried various things, like restarting the virtual machine, connecting/disconnecting the interface cable, restarting the laptop.

    When I came back up into the apartment, it popped up straight away.

    I'm not sure my interpretation is correct but it appears VCDS does some update check and only launches until it can talk to ross-tech.com.
    (or maybe it's a validation check?)

    I was slightly panicked at some point but it does make sense now.
    Not sure whether it's a bug or a feature, but at least you know.

  2. Likes Dana liked this post
  3. #2
    Ross-Tech Employee Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lansdale, PA, USA
    Posts
    2,793
    Post Thanks / Like
    It's a bug that's very hard to reproduce. I was actually working on it yesterday with HEX-NET in AP mode. It's supposed to always time out after 2 seconds and start VCDS, but somehow some windows installs and/or network adapters don't play nice when there's an actual connection but no or very poor data. My and Santos' observations seem to point at slow laptops and integrated WiFi.
    You ain't metal till you got a clutch pedal

  4. Likes Uwe liked this post
  5. #3
    Verified VCDS User iichel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    1,561
    Post Thanks / Like
    Fair enough, probably not easy to reproduce. Just wanted to let you know anyway

  6. Likes Uwe liked this post
  7. #4
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,297
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Try the following work-around: Start VCDS once while still in range of your WiFi. If you've started it once already that day, I think it will be good to go for the rest of the day, even if you close it again.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  8. #5
    Verified VCDS User Polofan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    34
    Post Thanks / Like
    I always disable wireless network before connecting to car, to prevent other programs Trying to Update things

  9. #6
    VCDS Distributor Boki Ar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Arandjelovac, Serbia
    Posts
    1,139
    Post Thanks / Like
    Almost 2 years ago:

    Quote Originally Posted by Boki Ar View Post
    I remembered that convey an observation. When I turn on the HN and AP mode and a link is established, VCDS does not start on the first try. Just turn off the wi-fi on lap-top, start VCDS and then turn on wi-fi. In other words, it is best to first start VCDS, and then wi-fi on lap-top.


  10. #7
    Ross-Tech Employee Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lansdale, PA, USA
    Posts
    2,793
    Post Thanks / Like
    OK after two days' work, I was able to reproduce on a laptop and instrument VCDS to see what's going on. Turns out it's not our update function but a windows API call that's only tangentially related. I should have a fix in the next beta.
    You ain't metal till you got a clutch pedal

  11. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, USA
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric View Post
    OK after two days' work, I was able to reproduce on a laptop and instrument VCDS to see what's going on. Turns out it's not our update function but a windows API call that's only tangentially related. I should have a fix in the next beta.
    VCDS.exe used to work, but now crashes. Windows logs shows this:

    Faulting application name: VCDS.EXE, version: 19.6.2.0, time stamp: 0x5d8e754c
    Faulting module name: VCDS.EXE, version: 19.6.2.0, time stamp: 0x5d8e754c
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x0000000009ce8980
    Faulting process id: 0x3550
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d58ab0b6f46301
    Faulting application path: C:\Ross-Tech\VCDS\VCDS.EXE
    Faulting module path: C:\Ross-Tech\VCDS\VCDS.EXE
    Report Id: 5776fbfd-5275-4cc2-a280-314c8d2e71f8
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID:

    I have crash dumps if you want:

    C:\Users\xxxxxx\AppData\Local\CrashDumps>dir /OD
    Volume in drive C is OSDisk
    Volume Serial Number is 848D-3245

    Directory of C:\Users\xxxxxx\AppData\Local\CrashDumps

    10/24/2019 09:20 AM 263,698,644 VCDS.EXE.11160.dmp
    10/24/2019 09:21 AM 263,674,116 VCDS.EXE.10940.dmp
    10/24/2019 10:24 AM 264,353,956 VCDS.EXE.12132.dmp
    10/24/2019 10:28 AM 264,825,366 VCDS.EXE.1232.dmp
    10/24/2019 10:29 AM 264,231,252 VCDS.EXE.9376.dmp
    10/24/2019 02:10 PM 265,096,942 VCDS.EXE.13052.dmp
    10/24/2019 02:10 PM 265,060,126 VCDS.EXE.3428.dmp
    10/24/2019 02:14 PM 265,643,014 VCDS.EXE.2696.dmp
    10/24/2019 02:15 PM 265,060,078 VCDS.EXE.9304.dmp
    10/24/2019 02:19 PM <DIR> .
    10/24/2019 02:19 PM <DIR> ..
    10/24/2019 02:19 PM 265,133,870 VCDS.EXE.13648.dmp

  12. #9
    Ross-Tech Employee Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lansdale, PA, USA
    Posts
    2,793
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hmm as far as I can tell the fault address is outside of any mapped VCDS function, and we have no other similar report. What were you doing? Anything special about your computer setup (corporate lockdown, debuggers, etc)?
    You ain't metal till you got a clutch pedal

  13. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, USA
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    What am I doing specifically is trying to understand the cause of “dipped headlight” warning I got few days ago. So I stepped out of the car and the left front light was off while right was on. As I resumed driving the head light light came back and warning disappeared, but instead of white it is glowing orange:

    right headlight with correct white color:
    https://www.amazon.com/photos/shared...f6iXshTJ5UC7ij

    left headllight glowing orange:
    https://www.amazon.com/photos/shared...uie_7AkNdZqRjd

    So I started VCDS which used to work just fine a month ago on the laptop and run into crashes which I have reported above.

    Last night I have installed vcds on another laptop which worked fine and produced the scan and reported the error:

    Code:
    [00978 - Lamp for Low Beam; Left (M29) 
                010 - Open or Short to Plus - Intermittent
                 Freeze Frame:
                        Fault Status: 00101010
                        Fault Priority: 2
                        Fault Frequency: 4
                        Reset counter: 69
                        Mileage: 75100 km
                        Time Indication: 0
                        Date: 2019.10.22
                        Time: 07:55:00
    So now I am trying to figure out if this is a bad lamp or a bad ballast or both.

    Regarding laptop: it is domain-joined machine and is corp managed. It has debuggers and network monitoring software. I’ll try to identify what’s causing the crash

  14. Likes Uwe, Eric liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •