Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 73

Thread: Golf Mk6 cluster to Golf Mk5!?

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User prako's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Zagreb Cro
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like

    Golf Mk6 cluster to Golf Mk5!?

    Is it possible to retrofit Mk6 cluster to Mk5? I know there are diferent protocol... I have idea on my mind, but is it possible? First replace CCM unit with CCM unit from Passat 3C and try to bridge that uses the immo from CCM, pobably gateway must be replaced...? Is that variant posible?

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    2,050
    Post Thanks / Like
    Spacewalker, your reply is needed here.

    Anyways it does work, but no Convience or was it comfort menu will appear.

    But didn't understand your immo stuff, Passat 3C has Electronic Steering lock, with immobiliser in it, it connects to CCM via serial line - stuff that golf doesn't have.
    I am a VW Freak - Le WV Freaks OR Come visit me at my work with ODIS concerns - FORSS ODIS GeKo/FaZit access for VW/AUDI/Škoda
    The world is my oyster...

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User prako's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Zagreb Cro
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, you're right, I predicted that, but that's just one idea, many have told me that it is not possible to put Mk6 cluster on Mk5....

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    2,050
    Post Thanks / Like
    It's possible and it has been done many times. There are just setbacks(ie. missing comfort menu)
    I am a VW Freak - Le WV Freaks OR Come visit me at my work with ODIS concerns - FORSS ODIS GeKo/FaZit access for VW/AUDI/Škoda
    The world is my oyster...

  5. Likes prako liked this post
  6. #5
    Verified VCDS User Spacewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    781
    Post Thanks / Like
    Possible
    CCM, BCM ect have nothing with Cluster
    is only show extra MENU options .
    This same like Radio / Satnav.
    You can swap cluster w/o CCM remove.
    HOT HOT HOT VW Touran 2005 with ACC HOT HOT HOT

  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User prako's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Zagreb Cro
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Is cluster may be new or can be used?

  8. #7
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    2,050
    Post Thanks / Like
    Doesn't matter if correct tools are available for immobilizer configuration.

    If you send/drive your cluster to Spacewalker in Poland i think he can help you with immo. Also he has had some clusters for sale. If you do go for g6 cluster, maybe a premium one. Looks nicer in my opinion.
    I am a VW Freak - Le WV Freaks OR Come visit me at my work with ODIS concerns - FORSS ODIS GeKo/FaZit access for VW/AUDI/Škoda
    The world is my oyster...

  9. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    226
    Post Thanks / Like

  10. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like
    Been there ! Done that ! No need to change any other modules except the cluster itself. You will loose the Convenience Menu though since it is a different protocol.

    Don't believe the Ross Tech folks would approve of these mods though.....as this is totally out of what VCDS can do.


  11. #10
    Verified VCDS User Spacewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    781
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sorry, but who is blame Ross Tech ?
    Ross tech is not a company who recommend DIY project.
    All DIY project you are doing on your own.
    Lot of people do cluster swap like this, over a 2 years now.

    If you will go to VW dealer for online coding , they will reject it , because incompatibile devices .... and you will blame VW too ?
    Come one, I am sure you are very gratefull because you can use VCDS.
    DIY is always on your own
    Last edited by Spacewalker; 11-04-2014 at 08:13 AM.
    HOT HOT HOT VW Touran 2005 with ACC HOT HOT HOT

  12. Likes cbx750p liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •