Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Audi A4 Random Misfire

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    103
    Post Thanks / Like

    Audi A4 Random Misfire

    Hey guys,
    a few days ago received my Ross Tech cable, and did a Auto scan under engine I am getting random misfire codes, see code, also getting a O2 sensor code. I just replaced the O2 sensor the right side Upstream. however I was told that that code mean I need a new catalytic converter?
    secondly what could be causing the random misfire? I drive car daily and the car runs very smooth,and has plenty of power, it does not feel like a random misfire on all 6 cylinders. I have had a misfire on my other car on just 1 cylinder and i felt the engine shake, and lost of power. This is not the case with my Audi. the engine does not shake, idle very smooth, and accelerates as it should .
    Address 01: Engine Labels: 06C-909-559-ASN.lbl
    Part No SW: 8E0 909 559 L HW: 8E0 909 059
    Component: 3.0L V6/5V G 0010
    Coding: 0016711
    Shop #: WSC 63351 000 00000
    VCID: 3E25C0691C6D2407696-5160

    8 Faults Found:
    17524 - Oxygen (Lambda) Sensor Heating; B1 S1
    P1116 - 004 - Open Circuit - MIL ON
    16684 - Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected
    P0300 - 002 - - Intermittent
    16687 - Cylinder 3
    P0303 - 002 - Misfire Detected - Intermittent
    16690 - Cylinder 6
    P0306 - 008 - Misfire Detected - Intermittent
    16686 - Cylinder 2
    P0302 - 002 - Misfire Detected - Intermittent
    16688 - Cylinder 4
    P0304 - 008 - Misfire Detected - Intermittent
    16689 - Cylinder 5
    P0305 - 008 - Misfire Detected - Intermittent
    16685 - Cylinder 1
    P0301 - 002 - Misfire Detected - Intermittent
    Readiness: 0110 1001

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like
    Check for air leaks first. Have a look at the fuel trim, that will give you an idea if its running lean or rich

  3. Likes ivagp liked this post
  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    530
    Post Thanks / Like
    Apex, you do have a B1 S1 code which could cause a missfire, but not on both banks.

    As Gary illuded too would look @ fuel trim and @ what RPM range this happens, is it counting missfires @ idle, or where?

    Somebody will want you too post a scan and not just the codes, good luck.


    Larimore.

  5. #4
    Ross-Tech Employee Jef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    HQ
    Posts
    2,321
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Larry Manton View Post
    Somebody will want you too post a scan and not just the codes
    And I'll be that somebody. Please post a full Auto-Scan when requesting assistance.

    Does this engine have the correct spark plugs? Fuel pressure to factory design?
    Jef
    Ross Tech Support Team, Alpha Squad
    Auto-Scan, learn it, love it, live it... then check the fuses.

  6. Likes Gary, Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  7. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    103
    Post Thanks / Like
    How so I check fuel trim and what rpm its happening? I will post a full scan today on my break. Spark plugs in not sure but the car was serviced 2 years at Audi of Bellevue was last tune up and plugs were done. I have checked air intake system no obvious cracks.

  8. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Apexmaster33 View Post
    How so I check fuel trim and what rpm its happening? I will post a full scan today on my break. Spark plugs in not sure but the car was serviced 2 years at Audi of Bellevue was last tune up and plugs were done. I have checked air intake system no obvious cracks.
    The only way to check for air leaks in my opinion is by using a smoke machine.
    For a quick look at fuel trim, go in to OBD-II option and use the drop down box and choose what you want to look at.

  9. #7
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    28,299
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Apexmaster33 View Post
    How so I check fuel trim and what rpm its happening?


    -Uwe-
    Lock-down of sick people: Quarantine
    Lock-down of healthy people: Tyranny

  10. Likes Gary, Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  11. #8
    Ross-Tech Employee Jef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    HQ
    Posts
    2,321
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary View Post
    The only way to check for air leaks in my opinion is by using a smoke machine.
    I will have to respectfully disagree with that statement. It is good for some quick and dirty testing, but it isn't full proof. We have fielded a lot of false air issues where the callers will tell us they smoke tested and there are no leaks. The correct statement in these cases would be smoke tested, but no leaks found.

    IMHO, the best bet is to see what the fuel trim is showing and monitor it while introducing hydrocarbons (brake cleaner or propane) around the engine at idle.
    Jef
    Ross Tech Support Team, Alpha Squad
    Auto-Scan, learn it, love it, live it... then check the fuses.

  12. Likes Uwe, Gary, Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  13. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jef View Post
    I will have to respectfully disagree with that statement. It is good for some quick and dirty testing, but it isn't full proof. We have fielded a lot of false air issues where the callers will tell us they smoke tested and there are no leaks. The correct statement in these cases would be smoke tested, but no leaks found.

    IMHO, the best bet is to see what the fuel trim is showing and monitor it while introducing hydrocarbons (brake cleaner or propane) around the engine at idle.
    I can only go on my own experience and as yet, I have not failed to find an air leak using the diagnostic smoke machine. Using the brake cleaner method can be difficult to find a tiny pin prick in a hose tucked away out of sight. At least with the smoke machine filling the crankcase with smoke, you can see within a few inches where the leak is. Everyone has their own method.

  14. Likes ivagp liked this post
  15. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    530
    Post Thanks / Like
    Uwe, following along here, and did not know this about 032 and 033 but this was great info. The below 10% is pretty much what I have been taught and the Vag does a great job of letting you look @ the two, thanks.

    Larimore.

  16. Likes Gary, Uwe, Jack@European_Parts liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •