Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: iOS App

  1. #1
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,610
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    iOS App

    Anyone search for 'VCDS-Mobile' in the App Store recently?

    -Uwe-

  2. Likes jakematic, solomon liked this post
  3. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    Love the beeper function too !

    HAPPY SNOOPY DANCE !!!

    Last edited by jakematic; 08-23-2014 at 04:07 PM.


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have one request for Shaun though... I'd like it to play this as a 'ringtone' when you press the button:




    <runs> <hides>


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    1,984
    Post Thanks / Like
    Response for Knight Rider.

    I'm too old for this "stuff". He said "stuff"
    I am a VW Freak - Le WV Freaks OR Come visit me at my work with ODIS concerns - FORSS ODIS GeKo/FaZit access for VW/AUDI/Škoda
    The world is my oyster...

  6. Likes jakematic liked this post
  7. #5
    Verified VCDS User romad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Oroville, California People's Republic
    Posts
    169
    Post Thanks / Like
    And it DOESN'T require iOS 7 or newer! Yeah!

  8. Likes jakematic liked this post
  9. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    CO, USA
    Posts
    61
    Post Thanks / Like
    I like it.... Now for the first "serious" enhancement request (with all due respect to jakematic ) - Can you guys make this work when the iDevice is sourcing the WiFi network via the built-in iOS7 "personal hotspot"? It worked great on my home network (where of course I already know the IP) but says it's not connected when my phone is in hotspot mode.



    iPhone4S, iOS7.0.4 legitimately enabled Personal Hotspot (T-Mobile USA).
    Last edited by solomon; 08-25-2014 at 08:10 PM. Reason: Added picture

  10. Likes jakematic liked this post
  11. #7
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,610
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Honestly, I'm not sure that's possible.

    -Uwe-

  12. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    Huh, I haven't had a chance to try with hotspot yet.... good catch solomon.

    Having used Fing and iNet in hostpot mode before I do know:
    • they usually try to scan the WAN connection
    • my guess is they try WAN as it's the default gateway
    • I've had to manually have them search in this mode
    • the DHCP range is 172.20.10.X with iOS 6 and later


    I bet if the broadcast packet was sent to the 172 network it would pick it right up.

    That said, it would mean hardcoding the app... which as a programmer gives me the shivers.
    There should be a way to find the subnet of the broadcasting hotspot and check it though.
    Last edited by jakematic; 08-26-2014 at 09:44 AM. Reason: corrected app name


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

  13. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    CO, USA
    Posts
    61
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    the DHCP range is 172.20.10.X with iOS 6 and later
    I bet if the broadcast packet was sent to the 172 network it would pick it right up.

    That said, it would mean hardcoding the app... which as a programmer gives me the shivers.
    There should be a way to find the subnet of the broadcasting hotspot and check it though.
    I was going to give jakematic credit for steering me to those tools and suggest the following:
    -offer a user-configurable subnet to scan (defaulting to 172.20.10.xxx would be ideal, but as long as I can set-it-and-forget-it I'd be happy)

    I've not tried playing with ifconfig or similar (my iPhone is jailbroken) to see, but I'd imagine there are well-defined networks corresponding to WiFi and Cellular. Whether Apple allows mere userland apps much access is another story

    I tried hotspot first (well Ok, second - I did try WiFi to be sure it worked) because that's exactly the usage model that limited me in Germany I foolishly (I was really busy, the dog ate my homework, etc) didn't try the setup in the US and then found in Germany that I didn't know the IP of the Hex-Net on my hotspot Plus I could see this being a common "help a buddy" mode where I just use my own phone hotspot network to connect Hex-Net.

    Richard

  14. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    It should be 172.20.10.0/28 on bridge0

    I *think* the iPhone is .2 for some reason but can't find anything to corroborate that.


    Edit: I can't test it because my hotspot keeps shutting off - will try to debug that later
    Last edited by jakematic; 08-26-2014 at 09:47 AM.


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •