Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Problems With Auto-Scan and module access after upgrading to 14.10

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Problems With Auto-Scan and module access after upgrading to 14.10

    Hello, I am using the Ross-Tech Micro CAN on a 2012 VW TDI.

    I did my oil change today and, as usual, I went in to VCDS to reset my service interval. Upon starting, I was notified that there was a new version, which I installed.

    I was able to reset the Oil Change notification, although all actions seemed to be far slower than what I have come to expect (User since 2012).

    I always do a full autoscan when I connect, and started to do so this time as well. This is where the problems started. Sometimes the autoscan starts, and enumerates the modules, then nothing. Sometimes it gets to module 09, then nothing. Once, it got to module 17 (I think) then nothing. Occasionally I get nothing when I start the autoscan. When I say nothing, everything on the computer stops and I get the windows 7 wait circle. It never comes out of that state without disconnecting the USB dongle. I have waited for over 20 minutes.

    Sometimes I can get into the modules (ESI SI Reset), other times I cannot.

    The only difference between it working flawlessly and not working, was the upgrade to v14.10 (x64). Same laptop, same OS, no upgrades other than 14.10. USB version 2.10

    I see in the forums that there are several posts that describe problems quite similar, and one in particular, exactly the same as my problem (but apparently with a different interface method).

    I should note that I have uninstalled the USB drivers and removed them, then uninstalled the program and downloaded it again, and reinstalled. No difference.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,023
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Is this still the Thinkpad W510? Any chance you are using the USB 3.0 port?

    -Uwe-

  3. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Indeed it is, and indeed I am. As always.

    Problem with the USB3.0 interface?

  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Problem resolved, thanks Uwe! Although fairly ashamed I did not think to try it first, switching to the single USB 2.0 Port on the Laptop resolved all issues and I was able to get a good scan.

    So, is it a problem with USB 3.0 in general? Or is it IBM/Lenovo's USB 3.0 hardware and or driver?

  6. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  7. #5
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,418
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by tdhart View Post
    So, is it a problem with USB 3.0 in general? Or is it IBM/Lenovo's USB 3.0 hardware and or driver?
    There have been intermittent trouble reports with USB 3.0 ports in general, and Fresco Logic or Renesas chipsets in particular.

    Can you check in Device Manager to see which manufacturer/type of USB3 host controller you have?

    Jason

  8. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Looks like the USB 3.0 host controller is NEC.

  9. Likes Uwe liked this post
  10. #7
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,023
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    There have been various issues between USB3 ports and the FTDI drivers. Since FTDI doesn't make the source code for their drivers available to us, it's rather difficult for us to investigate why.

    Look at the bright side: Your PC didn't BSOD, which is what used to happen when the first generation Fresco USB 3.0 drivers interacted with the FTDI drivers that were current a few years ago.

    Anyway, when in doubt, use a USB 2.0 port.

    -Uwe-

  11. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  12. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Would this also cause the following (On first run on the B6, I received same message for Address 01 - Engine despite CEL on - disconnected cable and plugged in again then got the following):

    Address 15: Airbags Labels: 8H0-959-655-84.lbl
    Part No: 8H0 959 655 D
    Component: Airbag 8.4EC 0015
    Coding: 0010105
    Shop #: WSC 00672 785 00200
    VCID: 3B75C7B4791DCDF97A9-5140

    Subsystem 1 - Part No: 8H0 959 655 D
    Component: Airbag 8.4EC 0015

    No Faults Found
    or DTCs not supported by controller
    or a communication error occurred
    and
    Address 26: Auto Roof Labels: 8H0-959-255.lbl
    Part No: 8H0 959 255
    Component: VSG B6 CABRIO 6388
    Shop #: WSC 00672 785 00200
    VCID: 73E52F9411CD45B9629-5122
    Note: Excessive Comm Errors

    No Faults Found
    or DTCs not supported by controller
    or a communication error occurred

    Thanks,
    John

  13. #9
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,023
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Very likely, yes.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  14. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    240
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hmm, does this mean that when I in some very few days will start to use my new Lenovo thinkpad 8 HD tablet, can expect to run into trouble ? This tablet only has one USB (3.0, but also compatible with USB 2.0 according to spec) port afak !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •