Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Don't install VCDS in Fusion on an Apple computer

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Don't install VCDS in Fusion on an Apple computer

    This bit me today. I had installed VCDS on Fusion on an Apple laptop. The testing of the interface passed with no problems.
    So, I tried to clear these errors:
    02511 - Control Module for Seat Occupied Recognition (J706)
    005 - No or Incorrect Basic Setting / Adaptation - MIL ON

    Went through trying to do a Basic Reset (. The software would talk for a bit with the airbag controller and then threw errors saying that it had lost connection. It led us to believe that the seat occupancy sensor controller was bad.

    With advice from the tech support, I installed the VCDS on a PC and tried again. The reset worked like a charm.

    So, don't install VCDS on Apple ... unless it is running in BootCamp mode.

    Cheers
    -Doru

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,837
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Moved to Product Support.

    There's a reason that we consider virtualized environments to be "Unsupported". However, quite a few people report success with VirtualBox and Parallels.

    --Uwe-

  3. #3
    Ross-Tech Employee Jef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    HQ
    Posts
    2,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Cool, glad there was a reason for the "weirdness" we were dealing with when trying to resolve this.

    While Doru had communication with the Airbag Module, when we tried to do the Basic Settings, it would error out. Once it did display some data briefly, then error message. When we looked at Measuring Block Data for the POD, again, we'd get a brief listing of data, then error out. At the time I was thinking maybe the POD had failed.
    Jef
    Ross Tech Support Team, Alpha Squad
    Auto-Scan, learn it, love it, live it... then check the fuses.

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Oswego, IL
    Posts
    68
    Post Thanks / Like
    I just got through doing a competitive upgrade from Parallels 5 to VMware Fusion 6, as well as installing the VCDS. I haven't had any errors (yet). It took some time for me to update the HEX-NET network with the HexNetConfigV1.9.jar - it wasn't originally recognizing my wifi or allowing me to access the infrastructure mode . . . persistence paid off!!! I was able to get my '11 VW JSW TDI done but I'm still getting errors with HEX-NET/VCDS-mobile for my '14 VW JSW TDI. I continuously get the warning to configure the cloud, even though the program appears to be running the update. When I try to launch the cloud from one of the sectors (?) the program just seems to hang and then advises that it lost connection. I'll give it a try again tomorrow!
    '16 Golf Sportwagen TSI SEL, '16 Golf TSI SE HB, '17 Golf Wolfsburg HB

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by McSpiffy View Post
    I just got through doing a competitive upgrade from Parallels 5 to VMware Fusion 6, as well as installing the VCDS. I haven't had any errors (yet). It took some time for me to update the HEX-NET network with the HexNetConfigV1.9.jar - it wasn't originally recognizing my wifi or allowing me to access the infrastructure mode . . . persistence paid off!!! I was able to get my '11 VW JSW TDI done but I'm still getting errors with HEX-NET/VCDS-mobile for my '14 VW JSW TDI. I continuously get the warning to configure the cloud, even though the program appears to be running the update. When I try to launch the cloud from one of the sectors (?) the program just seems to hang and then advises that it lost connection. I'll give it a try again tomorrow!
    Please be aware that VCDS it not supported in a VM.
    I do it all the time though - via Parallels

    On the VCDS-Cloud registration - do it !
    You should go into a module and click [Functions] and register - lots of reasons to.

    ASAM updates are periodic and depend on the vehicle that is scanned.
    Let HN get them....


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

  6. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    Please be aware that VCDS it not supported in a VM.
    I do it all the time though - via Parallels

    *
    Same here. I have used Parallels many times in the past as I didn't have access to a windows laptop. I recently sold my Macbook and am using the Wife's new Asus with Windows 8.1 now and it seems to work well with it and my work laptop (Dell running Windows 7 32 bit)...
    2012 Passat SE TDI DSG. Tint, RLS activated, other VCDS tweaks
    2013 JSW TDI DSG. Malone 1.5 with DSG tune, tint, upgraded wheels, etc, etc. AKA Money Pit #1
    2008 R32 #1580, Tint, VCDS tweaks, etc etc. AKA Money Pit #2

  7. Likes jakematic, Uwe liked this post
  8. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by doru View Post
    This bit me today. I had installed VCDS on Fusion on an Apple laptop. The testing of the interface passed with no problems.
    So, I tried to clear these errors:
    02511 - Control Module for Seat Occupied Recognition (J706)
    005 - No or Incorrect Basic Setting / Adaptation - MIL ON

    Went through trying to do a Basic Reset (. The software would talk for a bit with the airbag controller and then threw errors saying that it had lost connection. It led us to believe that the seat occupancy sensor controller was bad.

    With advice from the tech support, I installed the VCDS on a PC and tried again. The reset worked like a charm.

    So, don't install VCDS on Apple ... unless it is running in BootCamp mode.

    Cheers
    -Doru
    not sure if you have checked this or if its possible in fusion, but try setting usb as straight through or no emulation on ports. ie the VM has direct access to hardware and bus ports.

  9. Likes jakematic liked this post
  10. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    I just purchased a VAGCOM cable directly from Ross-Tech and when I tried to use it on my MacBook Pro running VMWare Fusion w/Windows 7, I found that the behavior was extremely inconsistent/erratic. I would occassionally get connection failure error codes, sometimes I'd get to a Controller's screen and 'then' it would tell me it couldn't communicate, or it would just work fine/as expected.

    I did some digging online and it looks like people have had issues running VCDS thru VMWare, but have had more success with VirtualBox, so I'm going to give that a try some time tomorrow. I'd rather not have to dual-boot my MacBook w/BootCamp, but I suppose I could if necessary.

  11. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Redwood City, Ca
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    FWIW, I have had success with several different Intel-based Macs running Fusion, but Parallels has been kind of hit-or-miss. (I'm a software tester, so I have lots of environments available.)

    For those interested, these Virtual Machine settings seem to work best for me - on the VM I use for VCDS:

    -Make sure the USB port behavior is set to the PC only. If you have the port set to "Ask" in Fusion's USB Settings, VCDS can be can be less reliable.
    -Speed is king, so if you've got a ton of software running on the VM and on the Mac, consider freeing up more memory and other resources by quitting a few things.
    -Always double-check the OBD-II connector. I thought I was having problems with the USB connection until I realized my A3 has a bit of a flaky/loose OBD-II port.

    Hope this helps. I haven't really tried VirtualBox (at least for running Windows and VCDS), so my suggestions apply only to Fusion.

  12. Likes Uwe liked this post
  13. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Glad I didn't take the Fusion route - I was so close though! Instead I went ahead and purchased an inexpensive HP Stream with windows 8.1 (1st PC since 2006 I've used!). Although I still have problems with IP addresses and connecting to the VCDS-cloud, I can now use the VCDS software without any problems. At least I can activate my fuel pumps when I change the fuel filter on my TDI this coming weekend :-)

  14. Likes Uwe liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •