Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: VCDS & OUTPUT TESTS

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    198
    Post Thanks / Like

    VCDS & OUTPUT TESTS

    Hi
    When using vcds output test function,, for example for checking electric windows,, does the function check the wiring circuit, or the components, or both,, how Is the function output test working is it just a switch,, as for example lets say i can operate the window's by the output tests,

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,020
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    In general, it does not check anything, it juts turns a circuit on, so that one can verify its function using test equipment such as eyes, ears, or a multimeter.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    198
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    In general, it does not check anything, it juts turns a circuit on, so that one can verify its function using test equipment such as eyes, ears, or a multimeter.

    -Uwe-
    The reason i ask is, the output test works the windows, yet i know the window motor controller is broke,
    as i tried first a switch,, then replaced the controller, and it now works, so wondered how the output is working the output test, to operate the electric windows,, if the motor controller is faulty,, as Naturally you would at first think the controller was good, if triggered by the laptop it works,,, switch was changed, no joy, so all that was left was the controller, i already confirmed i had power to the controller and window switch,,with my meter etc,,

    So it would be good to have some clarity on the output test function operation to help with diagnostics in question
    otherwise it proves nothing, and can send you down the wrong diagnostic route,, because i had to confirm everything
    manually otherwise there was a contradiction,

  4. #4
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,020
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by senna1 View Post
    So it would be good to have some clarity on the output test function operation to help with diagnostics in question otherwise it proves nothing, and can send you down the wrong diagnostic route,, because i had to confirm everything manually otherwise there was a contradiction,
    "Contradictions do not exist. Whenever you think you are facing a contradiction, check your premises. You will find that one of them is wrong."
    -- Ayn Rand

    Suppose the motor controller had a broken solder connection at the switch input. Swapping the switch wouldn't help, but output tests would still actuate the motor.

    As for clarity on output tests: I can't offer much, since VCDS simply asks the module to do whatever it is programmed to do, and we don't have access to the source code or specs for the programming inside the modules.

    -Uwe-
    Last edited by Uwe; 04-24-2017 at 09:34 AM.
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  5. Likes Dana, Eric, NZDubNurd liked this post
  6. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    198
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    "Contradictions do not exist. Whenever you think you are facing a contradiction, check your premises. You will find that one of them is wrong."
    -- Ayn Rand

    Suppose the motor controller had a broken solder connection at the switch input. Swapping the switch wouldn't help, but output tests would still actuate the motor.

    As for clarity on output tests: I can't offer much, since VCDS simply asks the module to do whatever it is programmed to do, and we don't have access to the source code or specs for the programming inside the modules.

    -Uwe-
    That is my point, it does not prove anything if you have a item that is broken, yet it still works by output test, no point in using it,
    if it does not confirm a broken item, Maybe it confirms the wiring is good, i will see with further use, by deliberately removing Gnd,, I thought you would of had more knowledge of what it was doing, but it is a copy of vw group tool.which you say you have no source code etc.

  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    198
    Post Thanks / Like
    I had a look at the vcds manual section 18A & it says The output test is used to test a Control Module Outputs and the wiring that connects it to a device or various devices, So it is strange that our device is faulty yet the output test says otherwise.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •