Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Audi Q3 enabling MMI developer menu

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Yuengling Country
    Posts
    172
    Post Thanks / Like

    Audi Q3 enabling MMI developer menu

    As a new user, I am eager to try a few things, so please bear with me and my many posts...
    I thought of creating a thread for each topic, as that would make it a bit more manageable.

    So here it is, I have a radio-based MMI with references to RMC (no nav).

    Code:
    Address 5F: Information Electr. (J794)       Labels: None
       Part No SW: 8U1 035 187 B    HW: 8U1 035 187 A
       Component: RMC Cnct Sir  H62 0170  
       Coding: 01000600028051070023000102010000010000
       Shop #: WSC 00049 770 00119
       VCID: 382A218FB25B1A37D59-806C
    
       Subsystem 1 - Part No SW: 8U0 919 603 A    HW: 8U0 919 603 A
       Component: DUBasic AU316  H43 0018 
       Serial number: AUZ8ZDGCS038WS0     
    
    No fault code found.
    I was able to reset it with the Back + Center + TopRight button sequence, which was the right combination for MMI/RMC, if that piece of information has any bearing.

    Beyond that, nothing. I changed the 5F adaptation on channel 06 from 0 to 1 but it didn't stick. It said OK but when I read it back, it was still 0. Maybe I need a security code or I am doing something wrong, but I don't see anything relevant anywhere on the web.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    My ultimate goal is to enable TPMS and there are some instructions on how to do it though the green menu, which I can't seem to be able to enable. I have another thread on the TPMS itself, but this one is focusing on MMI.

    Thank you very much.
    2017 Q3 Quattro, 2012 Tiguan 4Motion

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Yuengling Country
    Posts
    172
    Post Thanks / Like
    At rlarsen's suggestion, this thread seems to be relevant: http://forums.ross-tech.com/showthre...Developer-Mode

    Dana, if my Q3 (8U) might fall in the same category, I would be very interested in trying this method.

    Thank you very much.
    2017 Q3 Quattro, 2012 Tiguan 4Motion

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User TBAx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    DE
    Posts
    569
    Post Thanks / Like
    Does it have the appropriate adaption channel?

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Yuengling Country
    Posts
    172
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi TBAx and thank you.

    The only answer I can give here is that I am able to read channel 06, though it gives me a 0 that I can't change.
    If I am not even close, (newbie) please give me a pointer on what to look for.
    2017 Q3 Quattro, 2012 Tiguan 4Motion

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Yuengling Country
    Posts
    172
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by TBAx View Post
    Does it have the appropriate adaption channel?
    Ah, here is a (slightly) more educated answer - I think you were referring specifically to the "Developer mode" adaptation channel.
    I don't actually know (not sure where to look for it), but I did try the two-button combination and nothing.
    My car has a plain radio, so there's no NAV button, but I managed to try the reset combination successfully.

    I hope linking to other sites is permitted, here is my button layout: https://data.motor-talk.de/data/gall...4784576351.JPG EXCEPT for NAV.
    2017 Q3 Quattro, 2012 Tiguan 4Motion

  6. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Yuengling Country
    Posts
    172
    Post Thanks / Like
    On a model - specific forum I read that changing Adaptation for 5F on channel 05 or 06 to 1 might enable MMI dev menu.
    Could it be that some vehicles have it on 05 while others on 06?
    I am tempted to try but I think messing with undocumented adaptations can be trouble.
    Last edited by somedude; 04-26-2017 at 08:47 AM. Reason: oops on channel number
    2017 Q3 Quattro, 2012 Tiguan 4Motion

  7. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Yuengling Country
    Posts
    172
    Post Thanks / Like
    I just discovered an old thread in product support that talks about enabling the engineering green menu on MIB and MIB2 vehicles.
    My Q3 doesn't have smartphone integration, which, if what I read was right, would make it a MIB1, right?

    The procedure talks about entering a security code and so on. Would the same procedure apply to the Q3?
    I am really paranoid about messing it up, but I really need to enable the TPMS reset menu.

    Thank you.
    2017 Q3 Quattro, 2012 Tiguan 4Motion

  8. #8
    Verified VCDS User TBAx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    DE
    Posts
    569
    Post Thanks / Like
    On MIB(2) HUs the green menu isn't as powerful as with the old MMI. However looking at the device from photos it looks like an MIB2Entry, so maybe the security access could help.

  9. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Yuengling Country
    Posts
    172
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you TBAx.

    If the buttons are indicative, I may be out of luck, as my radio does not have nav.
    I will try the SC, it least it would be a step forward.
    2017 Q3 Quattro, 2012 Tiguan 4Motion

  10. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Yuengling Country
    Posts
    172
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well, this is a good news - bad news situation.

    For the RMC radio, Adaptation channel 05 is indeed the channel that enables the engineering menu by setting the value to 1 instead of 0.
    The bad news is that there is no car menu in there, so I couldn't find anything in relation to TPMS (RDK).

    Darn, that was so close!

    Additionally, I discovered that there are 2 two-button combinations:
    - Car + Menu enters the green menu
    - Car + Back enters a hidden software menu, similar to the settings menu, which includes MOST. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MOST_Bus

    And for the sake of completeness, to reset this unit it is: Back + Center + TopRight
    Last edited by somedude; 04-27-2017 at 08:30 PM.
    2017 Q3 Quattro, 2012 Tiguan 4Motion

  11. Likes Uwe liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •