Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: Stage 2 Tune made my GTI 1.8T go bonkers! Please help

  1. #21
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    23,410
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    The ABS fault code is just the ABS module telling you it's aware that there are faults in the engine.

    -Uwe-

  2. #22
    New User 30secondgti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Uwe,
    Understood. So perhaps its a cycle/process in how the ecu recognizes fault codes...?

    In chronological order:
    Reset all the fault codes - drive it for an hour - all the fault codes come back - car still idles normally - a week or two passes of the car sitting in the garage and the ABS fault kicks in and triggers sporadic revving and little to no throttle response.

    This has happened with the last two ecus. (in the same fashion)

    Tomorrow is a new start with a new stock ecu. Will then commence mechanical trouble shooting

  3. #23
    New User 30secondgti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like
    one more burning question that is in my mind. Are ecu's from the U.S and Canada interchangeable?

    Have been using ecu's from America in my car that was sold and spec'd for Canada.

    thx
    Last edited by 30secondgti; 08-22-2014 at 05:36 PM.

  4. #24
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    23,410
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    I believe they are, yes. However, the right way to determine what the correct ECU for your car is would be an official parts catalog, either at the dealer, or PL24.

    -Uwe-

  5. #25
    New User 30secondgti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like
    A VW dealership local to me has indicated that my car was born with a part# 06A 906 032 HS ecu.

    We've been ordering the ecu's from the states with the part#.

    All ecu's have had fault codes but I don't think it's the ecu, it's likely the car has mechanical issues that are triggering them.
    Last edited by 30secondgti; 08-23-2014 at 01:14 AM.

  6. #26
    New User 30secondgti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like
    Gentlemen, The last two ecu's I purchased and had shipped from two different auto wreckers in North America have turned out to both be tuned with Revo Software (even though both wreckers assured us they were stock and unmolested). For obvious reasons both these ecu's are useless. My car was born with a 06A 906 032 HS ecu. The search for an 'HS' is proving difficult. LP's seem much more common. Would I be able to successfully adapt and maintain the 06A 906 032 LP ecu to my car? If so, would 'NK' & SK' work as well?
    Does anyone have any information on what the different two letters at the end of the part# mean? I heard that HS is the oldest, LP is newer and SK is the newest.

    My car is a 2002 VW GTI, 1.8T gasoline, 5 spd-MT, AWP

    Thanks

  7. #27
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    15,669
    Post Thanks / Like
    How about you send me all your cores for testing?
    If there is something wrong I will let you know.

    I will try to help come up with a solution because I appreciate that you came here from the other forum.

    How does that sound?

    How is your battery health static, with ignition key on.......all other consumers switched off .........engine not running, logging with VCDS after 10 minutes?

  8. #28
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by 30secondgti View Post
    Gentlemen, The last two ecu's I purchased and had shipped from two different auto wreckers in North America have turned out to both be tuned with Revo Software (even though both wreckers assured us they were stock and unmolested). For obvious reasons both these ecu's are useless.
    A dealer is able to put back the standard software in the ECU.

    The software of the ECU in my car is changed (for better performance). The tuner gave me a backup on DVD of the original software (they have also a backup!). If needed this software can be put back into ECU.
    Golf VII, 1.6TDI BM Ed. 40 - 110 PK

  9. #29
    New User 30secondgti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like
    Battery is fine. Can't ship the ecu's to you. sorry.

    Do you have info: If an LP ecu will work in my car. Are LP's & HS's & NK's & SK's interchangeable? (06A 906 032 ((HS, LP, NK, SK))

    thanks.



    Quote Originally Posted by Jack@European_Parts View Post
    How about you send me all your cores for testing?
    If there is something wrong I will let you know.

    I will try to help come up with a solution because I appreciate that you came here from the other forum.

    How does that sound?

    How is your battery health static, with ignition key on.......all other consumers switched off .........engine not running, logging with VCDS after 10 minutes?
    Last edited by 30secondgti; 09-10-2014 at 04:50 PM.

  10. #30
    New User 30secondgti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, we have the flashing tool. The stock flash file was put back in (numerous times). What I was trying to say is that it doesn't matter. Once the ecu is flashed, it seems that it is never truly stock again; no matter how many times you flash it back to stock.

    Again, I was asking the question; Are LP's interchangeable with the HS, NK & SK?

    thanks.


    Quote Originally Posted by Mari View Post
    A dealer is able to put back the standard software in the ECU.

    The software of the ECU in my car is changed (for better performance). The tuner gave me a backup on DVD of the original software (they have also a backup!). If needed this software can be put back into ECU.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •