VCDS Updates.

BigG

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=37045
I used to always get regular updates but recently I notice I haven't had any. Today when I went to use my VCDS, I am probably a low user I should say but still find it a valuable tool, it needed updating. I had to log on to the site and it was like a re-downloading of the entire software. By the time I had done that my battery was flat, so running my planned scan had to wait until it was charged. Is there any way I can get back on to regular updates or have I now had it too long, maybe?
Thanks in advance.

Bruce

Ross-Tech Employee
Staff member
Ross-Tech Employee
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
--------
I used to always get regular updates but recently I notice I haven't had any.

Seems I get your look when I read posts like this! :D ;)

I think your memory of what happens is not quite spot on. I've been hanging at Ross-Tech for 18 years now. The software never self updated as Uwe Ross would never permit such. Always one had to go to the Ross-Tech website and download the latest release.

It is possible that you are recalling that the interface firmware would update. Here again, you had to tell it to do so. The process would be - Download the updated copy of VAG-COM or VCDS, install it, and then run a test. During the test, if an interface update was needed, that update was shown and you had to agree to let it run its course. If you didn't, then it was possible that the software would either nag you or might not work as intended.

But, I take exception to your recollection. We do not push updates to your device. You have to actively go download and install the updates.

Reactions: JMR

Uwe

Benevolent Dictator
Administrator
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
HC100001
The software never self updated as Uwe Ross would never permit such.