Should I buy VCDS (no previous experience)

Hybrid

Reaction score
Hi I looking for advice, I hate sending my car for routine servicing, but always willing to seek professional help for rectification of problems and have a good relationship with an independent garage. I’ve recently bought a 2020 Passat 2.0tdi and have established I need to connect a device to the OBD port if I wish to prime the fuel system after filter changes and to service the rear brakes. I am considering setting myself up with VCDS my problem is I have never plugged anything into a vehicle before. I looked at what other people get up to and discuss on this forum and have concluded the vehicle settings are determined by strings of numbers.
I’m really apprehensive that I could potentially change settings by accident by following an incorrect procedure etc.
Am I being over cautious or not?
Any help with making a decision to buy VCDS would be very much appreciated.
I am a mechanical engineer and install mechanical and electrical equipment into boats as part of my job, occasionally I use a lap top to set up equipment but this is very infrequently and is low tech stuff.

thanks in advance of any help.

Uwe

Benevolent Dictator
Administrator
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
HC100001
I’m really apprehensive that I could potentially change settings by accident by following an incorrect procedure etc.
Am I being over cautious or not?
Most anything you can change is reversible, but don't change anything you're not certain of, and don't assume a procedure for some other type of car applies to yours.

Remember, everyone was new at this at some point. :)

-Uwe-

stefdds

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=174556
I hate sending my car for routine servicing, but always willing to seek professional help for rectification of problems and have a good relationship with an independent garage.