3 VIN or 10 VIN?

Londonerryan

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=420740
Hi guys,

I was recommended to come here by guys on VW Vortex forum (allowed to plug them??).

I'm going to buy my first VCDS but after being explained the [very] basics i'm still none the wiser as to whether i should pay the extra £75 and get 10 VIN (£300 instead of £225) or just get 3 VIN for now and risk not upgrading. The upgrade at a later date would cost £169 i see (nearly £100 more than if i just buy 10 now).

Basically, i am a complete novice... I've used several OBDII scanners which are fairly simple to use but it seems i need VCDS now. I have a VW Golf MK 5 2007 model and since i bought it in the summer, it's given me nothing but problems. I must've had every dashboard warning light and thingy go off on it to date!

At present, the car doors aren't locking properly. I'd like to be able to diagnose that before i go to garage yet again.

I was explained - and i read a thread on this forum - about how not every car's VIN needs registering. I know roughly what 'basic' functions i can do without registering. Obviously i'll register my car, and perhaps some time down the line i might register a friend's or family member's car. To be honest, i don't know anybody with a car that it would work on.

As such, it would seem 3 VIN would more than suffice for what i want it for?

I was also thinking of resale value though too. For example, does anybody buy the 10 VIN version knowing that even if they use up say 3 or 4 of the VINs they still have a lot left over to make it worth selling 2nd hand once they buy a different brand of car?

Thanks for any advice.

Uwe

Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
HC100001
As such, it would seem 3 VIN would more than suffice for what i want it for?
It certainly sounds like it to me.