How do VW MK6 Headlight Switches Function?

jtdi33

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=440164
Hello All,

I have VLAND headlights from overseas and of course they're wired wrong (lol get what we pay for).

DRLs do not work, even with the supplied adapter harnesses.

I have some knowledge of electronics, and I believe my rewring idea should work.

The one thing I'm not certain about is whether the headlight switch is a "direct connection" to all lights involved, or does CANbus switch the circuit on when the headlight switch is toggled?

I'm trying to figure out the best diode/resistor to splice into a wire in the event that CANbus does control the "switching of the circuits" and thus anything outside normal parameters (current back flow) would cause a CEL.

VLAND has wired the U-shape LED lights to come on with the headlights: I want them to work as DRLs, and in conjunction with the headlights, and high beams if I'm super lucky!

Thoughts?

langers2k

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=224085
The light switch only connects to the BCM, there is no direct connection to any lights.

The BCM will then turn on/off any lights required but will also do bulb monitoring etc.

You might want to make a wiring diagram so you know exactly how the different functions are actually wired and therefore which BCM pin they go to. Then you should take a look at the BCM EEPROM and how it can be tweaked, it's not something that VCDS can do but it's the only option on this age of car. It worked well for me to avoid load resistors on a similar Skoda when I switched taillights and added various LEDs.

• Agree
Reactions: Uwe

DV52

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=194404
@jtdi33 : Hi. I'm not sure what "my rewring idea" is - but hopefully, my very cut-down diagram might be helpful (note: the arrangement below is taken from a RoW vehicle)

nABFGt0.png