Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: VIN-Limited Interface FAQ

  1. #11
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    13,399
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by bluestar View Post
    Is there a place in the software that will tell me how many VINs are permanently stored on my 3-VIN or 10-VIN VCDS?
    Will the the software show that my VCDS has unlimited VINs if I pay for the upgrade from 10-VIN to unlimited?
    Yes, as of version 17.1, the VIN status is shown on the About screen.

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

  2. Likes bluestar liked this post
  3. #12
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Yes, as of version 17.1, the VIN status is shown on the About screen.

    -Uwe-
    I updated to v17.1 and plugged in my HEX+CAN-USB with unlimited VINs. The About screen shows the Serial # and License Status (Valid/Activated), but no VIN status. Will VIN Status only be revealed for the new HEX-V2s?

  4. #13
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Near Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    613
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    As the HEX-USB+CAN is unlimited in VIN count, the software does not show anything about VINs with that interface. Only the new interfaces show the VIN counts.

  5. Likes bluestar, Uwe liked this post
  6. #14
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    There might be a glitch in the interface, I have the 3 vin cable here are the things I have done on two cars so far.......suspension adaptation, head lights adjustments, SRI reset, output tests, and a few code changes and so far it hasn't registered a vin still shows 0/3

  7. #15
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    13,399
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by AlmiR View Post
    There might be a glitch in the interface, I have the 3 vin cable here are the things I have done on two cars so far.......suspension adaptation, head lights adjustments, SRI reset, output tests, and a few code changes and so far it hasn't registered a vin still shows 0/3
    What cars were they?

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

  8. #16
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    04 audi a8l

  9. #17
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    13,399
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by AlmiR View Post
    04 audi a8l
    Hmm, that's a bit surprising. Mind posting an Auto-Scan from one, or even both? Maybe in the Reference Scans section?

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

  10. #18
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    I sent you a msg

  11. Likes Uwe liked this post
  12. #19
    VCDS Distributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Does viewing the timing graph for VE engines count towards using a VIN allotment? Basic settings have to be used but nothing is being changed with VCDS, so just looking for clarification.

  13. #20
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    13,399
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris@Roseland View Post
    Does viewing the timing graph for VE engines count towards using a VIN allotment? Basic settings have to be used but nothing is being changed with VCDS, so just looking for clarification.
    Good question. I don't have a definitive answer, nor do I think we have a VE engine around to try this on.

    I will say this though: Most VE ECUs don't know their own VIN (1996-2001). Generally only 2002 and 2003 ECUs do, and after that, NAR models were all PD, right?

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •