Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Is there VCDS coding for displaying gear in D mode? (NAR models)

  1. #21
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by yogibearal View Post
    So I was playing around since I had a little time to kill. At least on the 2017 Passat changing the following allowed actual gear to display, will be test driving it a bit to see if anything else has changed.

    Original:
    010200000C000000000000000000000000000000

    New:
    010100000C000000000000000000000000000000
    May have to try on our 2016 A3 Cab and report back.

  2. #22
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    43
    Post Thanks / Like
    I come from a software testing background (13+ years) and now am primarily in the technical PM profession. I need to do a bit of testing before I feel comfortable reporting specifics :P. I have some other mods so to get an accurate behavior I need turn them off and disconnect so I have a baseline for a fairly stock car plus log some runs to get a more accurate idea of what has changed with that changed byte.

    From the seat of the pants, I'd say do it, as it doesn't change a whole heck of a lot with regards to shifting behavior like on some of the older Tiguans. The information in the MFD is helpful. It really shows how the stock settings tend to lug both the engine and the transmission by shifting too soon. But with adaptive transmission that may also change. With my other mods, it makes it so that everything is much smoother so if there are differences its even harder to tell. In sport mode it seems much better, so either you drive more aggressive in D mode or switch to S mode. In general I think they made the throttle response too sluggish on these NMS Passat's in the name of fuel economy. A device like a pedal box or Remus responder definitely can help make this car drive a lot better. For most people you wont even need a power increase.

    Not sure on the Golf MK7 or other similar platforms since many have switched to MQB and some need security access to the transmission module. My new 2017 Passat NMS is really still based on the old MK6 platform Jetta with an enlarged size and some updated electronics, so figuring out these things is slightly easier if I do my homework and dig into past posts. If I had a MK7 Golf, I'd think I'd be in fairly new territory, although they've been out in the US from 2015 and earlier in other markets, lots more have changed in MQB platform that makes modding them much more difficult.

  3. #23
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Ormond Beach, FL
    Posts
    112
    Post Thanks / Like

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by yogibearal View Post
    So I was playing around since I had a little time to kill. At least on the 2017 Passat changing the following allowed actual gear to display, will be test driving it a bit to see if anything else has changed.

    Original:
    010200000C000000000000000000000000000000

    New:
    010100000C000000000000000000000000000000
    Son of a bisquit eater! This worked on my MY16 Golf 7 wagon Copied and pasted the exact string above and voila. D1-6 now shows up 100% of the time. Not sure if any driving characteristics like shift points are impacetd, but will report back tomorrow after time spent driving.
    2Ø16 Golf 7 Variant Highline Pure-Weiß 1,8 FSI « 2Ø11 Golf 6 2,0 6-Gang DPF 2,0 TDI BLUEMOTION Technologies™ Highline Candy-Weiß 5-Türen« Ø8 Golf 5 .:R32 Deep Blau Perleffekt 3,2 VR6 DSG 4-MOTION™ 3-Türen « Ø6 Golf 5 GTI 2,0 FSI DSG Tornadorot 3-Türen « Ø2 Indigo Blau Perleffekt Passat 3BG Trendline 1,8T 4-Türen. I Euro-spec OEM Mods

  4. Likes Eric, Uwe liked this post
  5. #24
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    43
    Post Thanks / Like
    Eric,

    For the 2016 change code from 00348 to 00448 - should do the trick to display gear in the MFD for D and S mode.

  6. Likes DV52, Eric, Boki Ar liked this post
  7. #25
    Ross-Tech Employee Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,404
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by yogibearal View Post
    Eric,
    For the 2016 change code from 00348 to 00448 - should do the trick to display gear in the MFD for D and S mode.
    Awesome, that did it! Both in D and S. I can already picture the look of amazement on Yanping's face when she discovers that new information (which may be never, let's see )
    I purposely did not turn off the ignition after coding to see if it would take effect immediately, and it did. I could move the selector with ignition ON engine OFF and it already showed D1 and S1. Unsurprisingly, the coding fails while the engine is running with an error 22 (request sequence error or conditions incorrect).
    You ain't metal till you got a clutch pedal

  8. Likes Uwe, jyoung8607, yogibearal liked this post
  9. #26
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Any updates on driveability? Just wondering if anything else is changed when making this edit to the coding for NAR 2016 DSG GTIs? I'm looking to do this as well as I'd like to know what gear the car is in, but don't want to ruin anything else. This is more of a nice to have than a need :-)
    Last edited by GLoBaLReBeL; 09-20-2017 at 11:14 AM.

  10. #27
    Ross-Tech Employee Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,404
    Post Thanks / Like
    Have not noticed any change but then again I drive it in pretend-manual 95% of the time. Yanping hasn't noticed that it shows the selected gear in D
    Edit: the 2016 GTI has a completely different transmission, so don't rely on anything 09G-related.
    You ain't metal till you got a clutch pedal

  11. Likes yogibearal liked this post
  12. #28
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    **Edit** looking at the original post i see now that this was for the 09G transmission from the start :*-( sad day for me. Was really hoping for a way to get the GTI's DSG to show the darn gear # in D and S modes!!! I know it can be done with an ECU flash, but was hoping VCDS could do it for us....
    Last edited by GLoBaLReBeL; 09-20-2017 at 12:19 PM.

  13. #29
    Ross-Tech Employee Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,404
    Post Thanks / Like
    Coding 448 created issues after flashing an update (don't ask) from 2941 to 3133 :
    Code:
    27786 - Valve for Electric Transmission Oil Pump 
              P27E3 00 [171] - Electrical Malfunction
              MIL ON - Confirmed - Tested Since Memory Clear
    The factory coding 348 sets the fault to intermittent and lets VCDS clear it, at the cost of the gear display obviously.
    Seeing how going from 3 (011bin) to 4 (100bin) isn't a single bit change, I decided to experiment a little with ignition ON, engine OFF, selector in D.
    448: Gear display, DTC, 4=100bin
    348: No display, no DTC, 3=011bin
    048: Gear display, no DTC 0=000bin
    148: Gear display, no DTC 1=001bin
    248: No gear display, no DTC 2=010bin
    548: Gear display, DTC 5=101bin
    648: No gear display, DTC 6=110bin
    748: No gear display, DTC 7=111bin

    So bit 2 is something that makes the car expect the "Valve for Electric Transmission Oil Pump" to behave different that it does on the NMS, at least with FW 3133, and with no bearing on the gear display
    Bit 1 is the one we want, it disables the gear display
    Bit 0 is unknown.

    Seeing how I'd like to stay close to the factory coding on this (for all I know bit 0 could disable that valve for the oil pump!), I've now set it to 000148:
    Code:
    Address 02: Auto Trans (J217)       Labels:| 09G-927-749-V1.clb
       Part No SW: 09G 927 749 AN    HW: 09G 927 749 AN
       Component: AISIN AG6 G3  129 3133  
       Coding: 000148
       Shop #: WSC 19460 666 12345
       ASAM Dataset: EV_TCMAQ250031 002009
       ROD: EV_TCMAQ250031_002_VW25.rod
       VCID: 05549B7915A557CF50F-8050
    
    No fault code found.
    You ain't metal till you got a clutch pedal

  14. Likes DrPeter, Andy, D-Dub, yogibearal, jyoung8607 liked this post
  15. #30
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    43
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric View Post
    Coding 448 created issues after flashing an update (don't ask) from 2941 to 3133 :
    Code:
    27786 - Valve for Electric Transmission Oil Pump 
              P27E3 00 [171] - Electrical Malfunction
              MIL ON - Confirmed - Tested Since Memory Clear
    The factory coding 348 sets the fault to intermittent and lets VCDS clear it, at the cost of the gear display obviously.
    Seeing how going from 3 (011bin) to 4 (100bin) isn't a single bit change, I decided to experiment a little with ignition ON, engine OFF, selector in D.
    448: Gear display, DTC, 4=100bin
    348: No display, no DTC, 3=011bin
    048: Gear display, no DTC 0=000bin
    148: Gear display, no DTC 1=001bin
    248: No gear display, no DTC 2=010bin
    548: Gear display, DTC 5=101bin
    648: No gear display, DTC 6=110bin
    748: No gear display, DTC 7=111bin

    So bit 2 is something that makes the car expect the "Valve for Electric Transmission Oil Pump" to behave different that it does on the NMS, at least with FW 3133, and with no bearing on the gear display
    Bit 1 is the one we want, it disables the gear display
    Bit 0 is unknown.

    Seeing how I'd like to stay close to the factory coding on this (for all I know bit 0 could disable that valve for the oil pump!), I've now set it to 000148:
    Code:
    Address 02: Auto Trans (J217)       Labels:| 09G-927-749-V1.clb
       Part No SW: 09G 927 749 AN    HW: 09G 927 749 AN
       Component: AISIN AG6 G3  129 3133  
       Coding: 000148
       Shop #: WSC 19460 666 12345
       ASAM Dataset: EV_TCMAQ250031 002009
       ROD: EV_TCMAQ250031_002_VW25.rod
       VCID: 05549B7915A557CF50F-8050
    
    No fault code found.
    Eric,

    Thanks for the heads up. Was the update done at the dealership? Just curious what it was for? My 2017 is going in for an update but my coding is different as it is a 20 byte long code. I'll see if my settings change after I get the car back and update the thread as well. Will need to check on my brother's 2016 SEL (non-premium) if his was changed at a recent service.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •