Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: VCDS on more than one laptop

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    VCDS on more than one laptop

    Hi, probably going to make myself look stupid here but can I install VCDS on more than one Windows PC and use the same HEX-NET interface?

    For some reason I think that the interface is 'tied' to one PC and one PC only?

    The HEX-NET only arrived today!

    Thanks

    Rob

  2. #2
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    1,510
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by dag_ltd View Post
    Hi, probably going to make myself look stupid here but can I install VCDS on more than one Windows PC and use the same HEX-NET interface?

    For some reason I think that the interface is 'tied' to one PC and one PC only?
    Welcome! You can use it on as many devices as you like. The license is tied to the HEX-NET hardware, not your PC.

    The only time a VCDS license is tied to the PC is for VCDS-Lite, which is meant to work with very old Ross-Tech interfaces or generic third-party interfaces.

    Jason

  3. Likes Uwe, Eric liked this post
  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,707
    Post Thanks / Like
    Supplementary question to dag_ltd's excellent enquiry: Can the same Codinglog.txt file be used across the multiple VCDS software copies? If so, how?
    Don
    VW Golf MkVII (103TSI) my13

  5. Likes Uwe liked this post
  6. #4
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    1,510
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by DV52 View Post
    Supplementary question to dag_ltd's excellent enquiry: Can the same Codinglog.txt file be used across the multiple VCDS software copies? If so, how?
    That doesn't really apply -- it's a log file, something VCDS writes to as changes are made, but will never read. You're certainly welcome to archive it for your own purposes, along with Auto-Scans. But there's no real sense in trying to synchronize them across multiple PCs by hand.

    Jason

  7. Likes Uwe, DV52 liked this post
  8. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,707
    Post Thanks / Like
    Jason: Many thanks for your quick reply: I had expected that the answer would be "no", but I just wanted to have a more knowledgeable forum member confirm my suspicion. The value in being able to "link" this file across multiple copies of software is that it produces a single source-of-record for fault finding when tweaks go pear-shape! Not a big issue - I agree, but a nice-to-have facility if easily implemented - which it is not!
    Cheers
    Don
    VW Golf MkVII (103TSI) my13

  9. Likes Uwe liked this post
  10. #6
    Verified VCDS User Zenerdiode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    661
    Post Thanks / Like
    Don,

    As Jason says - it's appended to each time - but not read from. Therefore VCDS won't know (or care) if it is being written to from different computers. Depending on how you would like to sync; you may do it over a home network connection or maybe a USB stick? Use ROBOCOPY.exe (I can write the script for you if you'd like) and if you're feeling really adventurous, add it to the autorun.inf so the script will run each time you plug your USB stick in. (Be aware though, some virus scanners are preventing USB autoruns from running, after Stuxnet...)

  11. Likes jyoung8607, Uwe, DV52 liked this post
  12. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by jyoung8607 View Post
    Welcome! You can use it on as many devices as you like. The license is tied to the HEX-NET hardware, not your PC.

    The only time a VCDS license is tied to the PC is for VCDS-Lite, which is meant to work with very old Ross-Tech interfaces or generic third-party interfaces.

    Jason
    Thanks for the reply. I want to buy a new laptop for my new HEX-NET but didn't want to put it on my old one if my suspicion was correct.

    I can start using it today then

    Thanks again

    Rob

  13. Likes Uwe, jyoung8607 liked this post
  14. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    So let me get this right, you can use it on another computer? My daughter broke my laptop with the orginal install and now I want to install it on my wife's laptop so I can scan my car. This will work right?

  15. #9
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    420
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by KrysAudi View Post
    So let me get this right, you can use it on another computer? My daughter broke my laptop with the orginal install and now I want to install it on my wife's laptop so I can scan my car. This will work right?
    I have VCDS installed on 2 tablets, one netbook and one desktop - and all work with my single HEX-NET.

    The licence requires the cable, so the software can be installed on any number of computers.

  16. #10
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    13,358
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Right. The license is in the interface/cable. The software reads the license info from the interfface when you connect to a car. This allows you to install and use the software on as many computers as you wish. However, you can only use it on one computer at a time -- whichever one you have the interface connected to at any given moment.

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •