Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: Modify the AUTOSCAN.TXT file for fun and profit!

  1. #11
    VCDS Distributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    915
    Post Thanks / Like
    Please make an Autoscan of your car and insert the result here, like:
    Start VCDS > Press button [Auto-Scan] > In "Select Chassis Type" select your car > Press [Start]
    Paste the Autoscan result here inside this text:
    [code]
    Your autoscan here.....
    [/code]

  2. Likes Uwe liked this post
  3. #12
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    What does this have to do with modifying the Autotext file?

  4. #13
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    235
    Post Thanks / Like
    To know which modules should be included in your autoscan.txt file ?!

  5. #14
    VCDS Distributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    915
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by waho View Post
    What does this have to do with modifying the Autotext file?
    Not modifying Autotext file, but modifying MyAutoScan.txt
    Until now, I understand you could not find out, to see the example showed in the text file: MyAutoScan.txt, and change that for your car!
    So there for if you showed an Autoscan of your car here, I would make the line that should be used for your car in your text file: MyAutoScan.txt
    But it looks like your are not interested in that.

  6. Likes Uwe, Eric, Sebastian liked this post
  7. #15
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    Problem I have is that when I go to MyAutoScan.txt file no vehicles show up.

  8. #16
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Vőru, Estonia
    Posts
    1,232
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by waho View Post
    Problem I have is that when I go to MyAutoScan.txt file no vehicles show up.
    Yes because it's YOUR autoscan file, there you can ADD your vehicle in same format as it is in regular autoscan file.
    Volkswagen Golf MKV 2.0TDI-8V 4MOTION MY2007 + Volkswagen Passat B6 2.0TDI-8V 4MOTION MY2007 Some of the work I've done and cared to make a picture.
    Our webpage and Facebook page Heads up, it's in Estonian language.
    The world is my oyster...

  9. Likes Uwe liked this post
  10. #17
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    I entered the chassis type from the list, along with all the listed scans in MyAutoScan.TXT file. Now when I go to the select chassis type list the first vehicle is my type. Unfortunately it only shows scan 01, under Select Chassis Type it comes up with 8E-Audi nothing else. What am I doing wrong? Also how do you delete the wrong entry.

  11. #18
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    Never mind, got it working

  12. Likes Uwe liked this post
  13. #19
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    The instructions are a bit unclear.

    MyAutoScan.txt has the list of vehicles added to the front end of AutoScan.txt. So copy and paste the vehicles you want at the top of the list from AutoScan.txt into MyAutoScan.txt and they will appear.

    Code:
    ;
    ; This file has the same format as the main AutoScan.txt file,
    ; but it's intended to contain custom entries for your own car(s)
    ; that will be displayed before the standard models in the selection
    ; box on the Auto-Scan screen.
    ;
    ; Chassis Code (max 3 characters),
    ; Description  (max 15 characters),
    ; Comma-separated list of addresses (max 125 addresses)
    ; Maximum 250 chassis types (total of both files)
    ;
    ; Example:
    ; 01,My Car,01,03,15
    ;
    ; Remove the semi-colon from the above line to see how it works.
    ; ... or add your own using that format
    ;
    
    1J,VW Golf/Bora IV (1998 > 2006),01,02,03,08,15,16,17,19,22,29,35,36,37,39,46,47,55,56,57,75,76
    AA,VW Up (2012 >),00

  14. #20
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    13,355
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Any entries you put in MyAutoScan.txt will appear in the drop-down box on the Auto-Scan screen before the entries that come from the main AutoScan.txt file.

    The primary use for MyAutoScan.txt is so you can create custom entries for your older cars that only list the modules actually installed in those particular cars rather than using the pre-existing entry containing all the modules that could possibly be installed in those cars. Doing that can speed up the scan for those cars quite a bit.

    Note, this capability is effectively redundant on modern cars that have a Gateway Installation list. On those cars, just use "Auto-Detect" and VCDS will not waste time looking for modules that aren't present.

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •