Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 195

Thread: NZ - Touran wants an R32 engine

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User NZDubNurd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    724
    Post Thanks / Like

    NZ - Touran wants an R32 engine

    Hi all,

    I haven't recieved by cable yet, but it cleared customs today, so should be here very soon!

    So far, the newest VW I have personally owned is an '84 T3 Transporter (Vanagon), but have owned many older ones. We also have a 2013 T5 Transporter for work: 2.0 BiTdi, 6 speed LWB, high roof, 4Motion - perfect for a camper when the lease is up! I wonder if it's safe to use VCDS on it, as it's under warranty still, plus owned by the lease company

    VCDS is VERY new to me, though I have used BMW software fairly extensively on our 2001 525i (amongst other things) - I'm not sure that makes it any easier, because the systems are VERY different!

    I'm hoping to embark on an extensive (and silly ) project - building an "R32-ran" - a 1T1 Touran with Golf R32 running gear. We need a little more space for the family, but I want to retain a safe car, but it must perform well - so the R32 idea came to be! Plus who can resist the sound of the R32 engine!

    At some stage I'll need to ask some silly questions, but from what I can find so far, fitting the R32 from a MK4 Golf shouldn't be much of a drama (other than HOURS of wring modifications).

    I'm still investgating what modules may have issues comunicating, though it seems that the engine ECU is pretty easy, as long as I have the immobiliser deleted. Hopefully coding the instument cluster to a 6 cyinder is as easy as BMW stuff, and getting the ECU/ABS/ESP/Traction control etc to communicate isn't an issue - I have to have the safety features functioning to get engineering certification.

    I may leave the 4-motion conversion for later, but it seems silly to have the 3.2 VR6 without it!

    Looking forward to recieving the cable and having a play with something!

    Allan
    (Whangarei, New Zealand)

  2. Likes jyoung8607, Uwe liked this post
  3. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    16,388
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Welcome to the forum.

    That's an ambitous project you're undertaking. I'm questioning using a VR6 form a Mk.4, since the Touran is a Mk.5 chassis?

    As for the T5, yes, it's safe to scan it.

    -Uwe-

  4. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Better yet, why not get a (rear-ended) Mk5 R32 donor vehicle?

  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Vőru, Estonia
    Posts
    1,398
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Welcome to the forum.

    That's an ambitous project you're undertaking. I'm questioning using a VR6 form a Mk.4, since the Touran is a Mk.5 chassis?

    As for the T5, yes, it's safe to scan it.

    -Uwe-
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't the upgrade in R32 on mkv chassis consist of some software and upgraded manifold. Mounts should be the same, electrics yes, so you would need to have some heavy wiring and a new ECU to communication on CAN.

    EDIT: If you delete immo in your ECU, i think cluster will be unhappy about it. Why not to things the correct way?
    Volkswagen Golf MKV 2.0TDI-8V 4MOTION MY2007 SEAT LEON FR 1.8TSI MY2018 Some of the work I've done and cared to make a picture.
    Our webpage and Facebook page Heads up, it's in Estonian language.
    The world is my oyster...

  6. #5
    Verified VCDS User NZDubNurd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    724
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks guys,

    Getting hold of R32 gear here in NZ is fairly tricky! a MK4 version engine loom and 6 speed is here, and I'm hoping they are compatible (REALLY hoping).

    In the UK, the R32 has been put into the 2K caddy (Touran/mk5 chassis), but I'm unable to find out if they used mk4 or mk5 yet. Apparently the ECU is the same Bosch ME7.1.1, but not sure of compatibilty.

    We have a LOT of used Japanese import cars here, and most tend to be the ordinary versions, or automatic. I ONLY want manual.

    I need to try to find what data in comunicated between the engine ECU and the other modules: I assume the ESP can tell the ecu to control the throttle, so I am somewhat concerned!

    ANY help is appreciated!

    Thanks.

  7. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    16,388
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by NZDubNurd View Post
    I ONLY want manual.


    -Uwe-

  8. #7
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Vőru, Estonia
    Posts
    1,398
    Post Thanks / Like
    Noooo, not the manual/automatic fight again
    Volkswagen Golf MKV 2.0TDI-8V 4MOTION MY2007 SEAT LEON FR 1.8TSI MY2018 Some of the work I've done and cared to make a picture.
    Our webpage and Facebook page Heads up, it's in Estonian language.
    The world is my oyster...

  9. #8
    Verified VCDS User NZDubNurd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    724
    Post Thanks / Like
    Ahahaha! I seriously HATE autos, plus they spend so much time going p and down gears around here, they just have issues :-). Plus... I could just buy a camry or something else mundane, and get a labotomy

    I tell my wife that I only do manuals, "Because it makes it safer and more fuel efficient"... which is the same reasoning for the R32 repower...

    Uwe, funny you post the baby - our next is due on Friday! Though apparently my wifes oven is a it slow - the others were 10 and 18 days over.


    Anyway! I have been trawling MK4 R32 diagrams, It does show a low and high canbus - The R32 was only availble for the end of MK4 production, so I'm hoping that's on my side! It does, however, still have a speed signal sent from a hall sender in the transmission, via the cluster, to the ECU... but so does the MK5 R32! The ECU wiring is basically the same (obb minor change to connectors etc), though I have also heard that a MK5 ecu won't work on a MK4 engine, as the cam sensor signal is different. It might be true!?!?

    So far, the drivetrain CAN on both models seems to be the same, I just don't know if the car sends other data around, or how it will work with the Touran CAN...

    Am I barking up the wrong tree, or maight this actually work? ANy ideas on how to check?

    Cheers,

    Allan.

  10. #9
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Vőru, Estonia
    Posts
    1,398
    Post Thanks / Like
    Didnt mkv use abs senspr, and gear sensor is left our?

  11. #10
    Verified VCDS User NZDubNurd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    724
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by golfi_vend View Post
    Didnt mkv use abs senspr, and gear sensor is left our?
    Ugh! Woke up sick this morning... probably shouldn't have been looking at diagrams so late either

    So... I can't find where I saw the speed sensor on the MK5 now - So I think you are right! AHHHHH! That would be the norm for a full-on CANbus system (like our BMW is).

    Back to more investigating...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •