Audi A6 2006 2.0tdi timing belt failure

Gremling

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=319714
Hi all,
My father in-law´s 2.0tdi had a timing belt that broke/ruptured last night. The driver told me that he only felt the total loss off engine power, but no "bang", he could not remember if he tried to restart the engine (I therefore assume he did).
I am not familiar with this engine, apart from having done a mod on the notorious oil pump so it will not fail again. I know the Diesel engine has a higher comp then petrol, but the shape of pistons and head can either cause havoc or it survives a belt rupture. So my question is: Does anyone have engine specific knowledge that can tell me what to expect here? Kind of a starer heads up.

Please do not be offended by my next statement, but the above question is for people that has very good experience with the BRE engine, or very similar engines, as my background is mechanics. I just want some idea what to tell father in-law before I start the repair/engine swap.

Regards
Gremling

Last edited:

Jack@European_Parts

Gone But Not Forgotten
Professional VCDS User
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=57337
Audi A6 2006 2.0tdi timing belt failure
Hi all,
My father in-law´s 2.0tdi had a timing belt that broke/ruptured last night. The driver told me that he only felt the total loss off engine power, but no "bang", he could not remember if he tried to restart the engine (I therefore assume he did).
I am not familiar with this engine, apart from having done a mod on the notorious oil pump so it will not fail again. I know the Diesel engine has a higher comp then petrol, but the shape of pistons and head can either cause havoc or it survives a belt rupture. So my question is: Does anyone have engine specific knowledge that can tell me what to expect here? Kind of a starer heads up.