Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 2015 A3 - Key programming

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like

    2015 A3 - Key programming

    Hi all,

    I dropped my key in the water at the boat ramp... since the remote has died (changed the battery and it worked but shortly there after died again even after pulling it apart and giving it a good clean).

    Never the less the key still works without the remote.

    So I bought a used key and was hoping to switch my blade into the used key and reprogram that key (possible through VCDS or is it only authorized VW that can)?


    If I put the old blade in the used key (from another car) I trip the immobilizer (same as just using the blade without the water damaged FOB).

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    386
    Post Thanks / Like
    if it's kessy, you can forget about vcds. if it's not then it depends if your immo chip is transferable.

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    It's not Kessy. It needs a key start.

    Not sure where the Immobilizer chip is located on the chip board? Can it be programed via VCDS?

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Northwest UK
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    The immobiliser chip is a very small square/rectangle shaped item that looks like a tiny black coloured sweet that is usually fixed into the corner of the key. That chip will need to be removed and placed into the new key, to replace the one that's there. VW won't reprogram an old key as they say the RFID chip is one-time programmable only.

    Some locksmiths can reprogram an old key to work but VCDS can't do this. If you struggle to locate and swap over the immobiliser chip then you'll have to purchase a new blank key.

  5. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by myounus View Post
    The immobiliser chip is a very small square/rectangle shaped item that looks like a tiny black coloured sweet that is usually fixed into the corner of the key.
    Is it on the chip board or the key blade or the FOB body? Lets say I do relocate the immob chip. Can I then use VCDS to program the new key for the car or are there alternate methods?

    Edit - http://www.myturbodiesel.com/wiki/im...lacement-tips/

    It's on the chip board...
    Last edited by random101; 11-15-2017 at 03:28 PM.

  6. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Northwest UK
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    There is normally a method/sequence to program the key fob section to the car. You have to follow a sequence and code all keyfobs together at the same time. A quick search of the internet will help you locate the procedure, if it's not already documented in your car's handbook.

  7. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Northwest UK
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like

  8. #8
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    15,304
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Those instructions are for the 8E-chassis B6/B7 A4.

    I'm skeptical that they would be applicable to an 8V chassis (MQB-based) A3.

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

  9. #9
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Those instructions are for the 8E-chassis B6/B7 A4.

    I'm skeptical that they would be applicable to an 8V chassis (MQB-based) A3.

    -Uwe-
    Ditto - I'm pretty sure you need the VCDS to do this (and in order to do so need the SKC...)

  10. #10
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Update - I'm starting to think it will just be easier to fix the water damaged key...


    So I took off the long rectangle chip off the key I bought and replaced it with my one (soldered it off and soldered mine on).

    Car locked up straight away !@$

    Soldered it off and put it back on the water damaged key and it works fine... go figure... Do I have the right chip?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •