Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Lap died

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cornish (USA)
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like

    Lap died

    My laptop died how do I put my hex net/VCDS-Mobile on to a new computer

  2. #2
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1,458
    Post Thanks / Like
    download VCDS on the new computer:

    http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds/download/current.php

    Once installed, connect the HN, click options , select the port (USB/Wifi) and click test.

  3. #3
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    17,266
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Exactly. The license(s) live in the HEX-NET, not on the computer.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cornish (USA)
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like
    Ok thank you

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cornish (USA)
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like
    One other thing I never really got the hex net to work fully. I could log onto the cloud and view logs that were uploaded. But I could not access the other functions with the hex net. Will downloading the program again allow me to start the process over again.

  6. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    17,266
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    No, the VCDS program has nothing to do with that.

    If you're having trouble with VCDS-Mobile, please describe in more detail.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  7. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cornish (USA)
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like
    When I first set the hex net up I tried to do it using a kindle fire. I'm afraid that was not a wise decision. I've inherited my wife's iphone and that works much better. Now that I've started looking at using the hex net again to access tha other functions instead of dragging the laptop out. I was watching the video on setting up the hex net and I don't think that I ever got it set up right. When I try to configure it the list of 8 I think what are up addresses doesn't come up. I don't think I'm on the right page because in the video the only option is the configure button and when I try the update button is there to

  8. #8
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    17,266
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    If at all possible, please do the WiFi configuration using the PC-based utility; it's much easier.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  9. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cornish (USA)
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you I'll try that wish me luck I'm about as computer literate as a hammer you will hear from me again

  10. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cornish (USA)
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have another problem the laptop that I purchased to replace the other laptop and installed the hex net program onto has a problem. The problem is with the mouse pad and the geek squad is telling me to trade it in for a new machine. Is there a procedure to solve this problem or can I just download the program again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •