Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Incorrect labels

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS-Lite User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like

    Incorrect labels

    I am running VCDS-Lite release 1.2 downloaded around 6 months ago.

    I have an Audi A4 B5 1999 2.8 Quattro engine ACK.

    I am looking at the engine measuring blocks 090-093 but the labels don't appear to be correct.

    My controller is 4D0 907 551 R and my label file is 078-907-551-ACK.LBL

    All seems good. However I think 091 should show speed (it does) load (it does) adjustment status (it shows load again) and adjustment bank 1 (it shows voltage?!)

    The other blocks (090,092.093) are similarly wrong.

    What should I change? Seems like the label file is wrong?

    Thanks!

    Russell

  2. #2
    Ross-Tech Employee Sebastian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    1,705
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hello Russel,


    VCDS-Lite Label files haven't been updated in a very long time. If you were using a current version of the software, I'd ask you to run a control module map and have us take a closer look. That said, 078-907-551-ACK doesn't contain any MVB related information, which means the values that look "incorrect" to you are based on the values/units sent by the control module. A rewrite for that file is in the queue, in any case it won't be back-ported to VCDS-Lite.
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com // VCDS Rookie since 2003

    »Nichts erweitert das eigene Wissen mehr,
    als die Meinung eines Andersdenkenden.«

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS-Lite User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for the fast response.

    I've noticed that other engine types do have the mvb values. Could I paste them in??

    Thanks!

    Russell

  4. #4
    Ross-Tech Employee Sebastian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    1,705
    Post Thanks / Like
    No, depending on where you copy paste from it might give you some closure though from experience, there is a reason why we don't do that. You can always grab a factory repair manual and write your own MVB details in the label file(s).
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com // VCDS Rookie since 2003

    »Nichts erweitert das eigene Wissen mehr,
    als die Meinung eines Andersdenkenden.«

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS-Lite User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks. I know what they should be called, but the problem is the unit of measure is wrong. How do I change this so that it gives me the correct output? E.g. Position 4 of block 091 should be degrees KW but it shows voltage. How do I make it show degrees? At present it shows 1.105v. How should I read this?

  6. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    15,554
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Units are determined by the control module itself, not by the label file. A label file only adds descriptions of the data.

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

  7. #7
    Verified VCDS-Lite User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Understood. So why would my units be wrong from the control module? See my weird data below:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/b7ts02d5um...0copy.png?dl=0

    There is a file for the AHA engine which is similar to mine. Shall I just rename the file to ACK and try that? Although it sounds like that doesn't solve my unit of measure problem.

    How can I decode the data these measuring blocks is giving me?? Is 1.105v = 1.105 degrees KW? In which case I need a timing belt change quickly as this would be out of alignment!

    Thanks for the fast responses so far!!

    Russell
    Last edited by scaphan; 06-07-2017 at 10:31 AM. Reason: image url wrong

  8. #8
    Ross-Tech Employee Sebastian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    1,705
    Post Thanks / Like
    The blocks you are referring to are not documented in the factory repair manual for this specific engine code / control module, so wherever you are looking for references - your references are wrong! It is quite possible that your ECM sends raw sensor data (in Volts) instead of a computed °KW/°CF here, yet without having a true documentation it is pure guessing as to what that value may or may not refer to.
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com // VCDS Rookie since 2003

    »Nichts erweitert das eigene Wissen mehr,
    als die Meinung eines Andersdenkenden.«

  9. Likes Uwe liked this post
  10. #9
    Verified VCDS-Lite User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Okay so if I want to measure the data that I believe to be in measuring blocks 90-93 (data on the position of the timing belt and how far off the cams are) then which blocks would you recommend for the ACK engine? Or is there a resource I should consult? (Bentley suggests blocks 90-93). Russell

  11. #10
    Verified VCDS-Lite User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sorry after more research I have discovered that Bentley (being US) don't cover the ACK engine!!

    Therefore I need some resource that will help me label each measuring block so I know what I am looking for. Can you suggest where to look to find which measuring block to observe for cam alignment etc? I assume it isn't blocks 090-093. I have the Haynes manual but that doesn't mention VAG-COM.

    Any help is appreciated. I want to use VCDS to help me get the timing belt right.

    Thanks in advance.

    Russell

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •