Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: HEX+CAN Communication issue

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like

    HEX+CAN Communication issue

    Hi there
    I seem to be have communication issue with my hex+can unit..... I'm running on the latest software, the comm light flashes green when plugged into a vehicle and sometimes connects but when it does connect it just flicks up a no comm error. I've run a test on the on the system and saved it but it doesn't seem to help it?

    Here is my serial number for any reference you may need [redcated - HC484137]

    Hope you can help
    many thanks
    Gez
    Last edited by Uwe; 05-22-2017 at 03:07 PM.

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    13,399
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    CAN cars? Non-CAN cars?

    What kind of computer? Version of Windows?

    Can you post a screen-shot of of the "No comm" error?

    FWIW, that interface is 8-1/2 years old...

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Uwe,
    Ive only noticed it on CAN vehicles
    The computer im running from is a IBM think pad (intel core duo)
    Version of Windows is XP (I know this is stone-age and un herd of and quite embarrassed)
    I know the interface is old but I always download the latest software and Ive never had a problem in the past, it only started last week
    Hope you can help/advise me on this
    Thanks
    Gez

  4. #4
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    13,399
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    I would try it on a different computer first.

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like
    How would I get VCDS downloaded on to another computer? We purchased VCDS from a third party who installed it for us

    Gez

  6. #6
    Verified VCDS User GaryM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    379
    Post Thanks / Like
    Download from the following web page and just install it as you would do any other Windows program

    http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds/download/current.php

  7. Likes Uwe liked this post
  8. #7
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    422
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by GEZ View Post
    How would I get VCDS downloaded on to another computer? We purchased VCDS from a third party who installed it for us
    The VCDS software is freely downloadable from the Ross-Tech website here http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds/download/current.php it's the lead that you purchase.

    Who was the third party you purchased VCDS from?

  9. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for the links lads
    We purchased if from V-tech UK,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •