Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: particulate filter code fault code

  1. #11
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by cschlue View Post

    Last edited by Uwe; Yesterday at 08:18 PM. Reason: QUOTE -> CODE
    thank you, I looked at how you modified - makes total sense now. thanks

  2. Likes Uwe liked this post
  3. #12
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by m87a View Post
    if they see a tune...
    What would they look for or see, now that I swapped the program/tune back to stock?

    What would they point to, to identify I had a tune on it in the past?

    The car also went through 50% more DEF last service, they just filled it and sent me on my way.

  4. #13
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    276
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by cschlue View Post
    to identify I had a tune on it in the past?

    The car also went through 50% more DEF last service, they just filled it and sent me on my way.
    go to Advanced ID 1A or advanced identification on 01 Engine
    check
    FLASH STATUS
    Programming Attempts 2 (number of times how many times was module flashed)
    Successful Attempts 2 (number of times how many times was module successfully flashed sometimes this is lower that attempts )

    hmmmm.. you can use that

  5. #14
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by m87a View Post
    go to Advanced ID 1A or advanced identification on 01 Engine
    check
    FLASH STATUS
    Programming Attempts 2 (number of times how many times was module flashed)
    Successful Attempts 2 (number of times how many times was module successfully flashed sometimes this is lower that attempts )

    hmmmm.. you can use that

    wow... clearly discoverable.
    very good to know.
    thank you!!!

  6. #15
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    13,948
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by cschlue View Post
    wow... clearly discoverable.
    very good to know.
    thank you!!!
    Except that some tuners have figured out how reset the flash counters.

    -Uwe-
    Ceterum censeo, delenda est Daesh.

  7. #16
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Did you ever find out the issue?
    I have these same code showing up but for a stock car.

  8. #17
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by wiluspyder View Post
    Did you ever find out the issue?
    I have these same code showing up but for a stock car.

    Sorry for the slow reply... I have been dealing with it slowly based on shop availability.

    The short answer is, negative!

    I have had two visits to a local shop that sells the tune and spends plenty of time on diesels.

    We have confirmed, there is a DPF and it has substrate... it's not missing the filter.
    We found a clogged exhaust pipe, small metal tube around the turbo. Cleared and no change.
    Car is back to fully stock 100%.
    Same independent shop spent a second day debugging in stock; with no luck identifying the culprit.

    More to come; I will update as I get more time debugging.

  9. #18
    Verified VCDS User Vasco Ferraz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like
    I read this thread diagonally... but I assumed you flashed the ECU (for more power) with the DPF still installed.

    If what I said is correct... fitting more power with a DPF still installed is not very good because it will be clogged extremely fast.

    Now imagine if the tune file is for more power and assuming the DPF is removed. This means that no more regens will be performed.

    So, my both hypotheses point to a blocked (or even destroyed) DPF. I believe that there is no turning back to save the DPF.
    Vasco Ferraz

  10. #19
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Update: just got the car back from 2+ weeks at the dealer.

    They went through a lot different de-bugging procedures, logging miles after each attempt, and in the end they replaced the DPF under warranty. They didn't seem at all surprised nor too descriptive in the matter (and I didn't ask too much). I have already noticed a weekend with less soot on the silver paint.

    Not a lot more to say - wish I had a little more to share.

    Thank you all for the fun conversation and help along the way.
    Last edited by cschlue; 07-31-2017 at 07:18 PM.

  11. Likes Uwe liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •